Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of placebo
Author:Martin Hryniewieck
Title:The Place Of Belonging
Download:placebo.zip (8b7f7a23c1995f0e432570ee768cffa3)
Filesize:672 Kilobytes
Release date:20.11.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'sSPQ Level Heaven
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
placebo.bsp1475 KB20.11.1996
placebo.txt4 KB20.11.1996
custmap.txt3 KB20.11.1996

placebo.zip - The Place Of Belonging

Small Wizard map in hub form with a few traps.

Tags: small, wizard, traps, water

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 3.2/5 with 14 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
user7346 Registered, rated this a 5 17 March 2013, 19:36

great!!!

xDDGx Registered, rated this a 4 19 June 2014, 2:41

Another map with traps, like housp, but much tougher. And it's really reminds me Half-Quake...

Cocerello Registered, rated this a 4 27 August 2014, 16:06

Completed on all skill levels. All monsters killed, all secrets found.

It's a good map in placing the traps, they can be avoided the first time, but need you to be very cautious sometimes and save, in the well named Corridor of Death.

The layout is good but the cramped places make it less good. Brushwork is average to nice by 1996 standards. Combat is varied, with nothing unfair out there. Amount of ammo/armour/health is way over what is needed. All the weapons besides the SG and SSG are in secrets, which are well placed and fun to find.

Hard/nightmare skill is another map. As the mapper says, easy/normal is for pussies compared with hard skill. There is more traps, and there isn't enough shells to kill all the monsters, so you rely on speedrunning and axing, or finding the secrets for the weapons. Some parts are very hard if you don't find the GL, but can be passed with effort and several tries. You need to be good at trick jumping to get one of the jumps done.

By the way, it seems that easy is broken after the SK door, in an ambush where you can't get out of it only on easy, finding an alternate way before that solves the issue.

Noxat Registered, rated this a 3 8 August 2015, 21:54

This map looks great and has a strong first impression, but then sorta devolves in to a series of traps that feel designed to be more tedious than challenging, including a jump that I'm fairly sure is impossible without rocket jumping, so I hope you found the rocket launcher! Also the hub room that connects the various pathways and is meant to be traversed several times has a hole in the center. It doesn't kill, but I kept forgetting about it and falling in and it just ramped up my frustration. Aside from that there are a few decent battles and secrets, but due to the various blunderous design decisions I mentioned, I just can't give this map a very solid rating.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in