Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of prodigy_se
Author:Dario Casali
Title:Prodigy Special Edition
Download:prodigy_se.zip (a38fd732d3dcc9ebd9d737a6c019f388)
Filesize:4477 Kilobytes
Release date:03.05.1997
Homepage:http://www.casali.demon.co.uk/dario/home.html
Additional Links: Crash'sEthereal HellGeniac's PlaylistRetroquakeSPQ Level HeavenTEAMShamblerTen FourUnderworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✘ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
P_se.txt.txt10 KB05.05.1997
Pak0.pak10281 KB05.05.1997

prodigy_se.zip

Prodigy Special Edition

Medieval and base-themed episode with four medium-sized maps as well as a start-map and a small secret level. Quite hard and challenging at times.

Tags: episode, medieval, base, hard, planetquake-map-of-the-week, medium, metal, textures, music

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 4.4/5 with 25 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Quaker 5 March 2010, 5:25
When I think of the most solid freeware episodes from '97, it's this, bbelief, mexx9/10, and zer that pop up into mind. This is probably the weakest of the bunch, but it's well worth playing. Also play Plutonia Experiment (Doom II, Final Doom) by this author.
Ankh, rated this a 4 8 April 2010, 21:20
I think it is time to replay this pack. I think it was quite difficult on hard yet it was fun and interesting. This pack has also some impressive speedruns on SDA.
NightFright Registered, rated this a 5 4 February 2014, 13:57

Quality work from one of the Casali brothers who had blessed us with Final Doom before. It's not as difficult as one would expect after playing Doom's Plutonia, but that wasn't what I was looking for, anyway. Map layout is great and enemy placement keeps you at the edge of your seat. One of the early and memorable highlights of Quake modding!

QuakeForever Registered 6 March 2014, 6:48

What more to say? Great work by the maker of (half of) Doom's Plutonia Experiment and future Valve Software worker!

FredBezies Guest, rated this a 5 26 June 2014, 22:10

Secret level entrance is kinda easy to find. And also nightmare level entrance. Just look at the right place ;)

Great addon.

Blood Vengeance Registered, rated this a 5 3 December 2016, 1:49

Great episode, very good design

Repus Guest 5 November 2017, 21:40

Playing this episode made me really uncomfortable. The whole layout is confusing, too many pathways, too many buttons shooting. Many times in order to get from this point to a 50 metres away point you need to run across 2/3 of the level.

There are two moments in one of the levels where you have to have considerable amount of health: first is jumping into lime pool and second the room with like a dozen nail traps. The nail traps room takes away 78 percent of health. 78! And there's no way to avoid the nails. What if player doesn't have 79 plus percent of health when entering this room?

In general, I would not recommend playing this release. My opinion is it feels too strange and odd.

Not a prodigy myself Guest 4 November 2018, 12:11

I'm stuck on the first level. I think I need to activate the brown lever, but I don't know how to raise the lift over the slime area to access the lever room. Please help!

Not a prodigy myself Guest 4 November 2018, 12:17

Aaaand, as usual, I found the solution myself right after asking. Shoot me.

Not a prodigy myself Guest 4 November 2018, 12:29

Repus, about the nail trap: you can avoid any damage by stepping a little to the side. And you can use the trap to kill the enforcer. :)

JMP Registered 24 January 2019, 23:03

I played a couple of the maps, and it was a brutal grind--tough and not very fun. Also, gameplay felt very Doom-like in some respects. It's clear that a lot of effort and skill went into creating this, but it's not for me.

pmk Guest 8 February 2019, 14:00

Pretty good early quake map pack that is challenging and fun to play through. I also enjoyed the custom red texture skybox that Dario created within this mod. However in some maps it was quite vague of how to advance within the level as it was not always very clear of where the correct switch was in order to progress. As a result i can only give this early quake mod a four out of five rating but would highly recommend downloading this mod as it is very high quality.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 5 1 May 2019, 20:46

I had never heard of this gem before. The maps are quite simply beautiful and a marvel to behold. The architecture is creative and varied, and there are all kinds of cool ideas and gameplay mechanics you don't see very often.

The gameplay is challenging in a good way most of the time, but I'd say level 1 and, to some extent, 4 are too skimpy on health, which isn't my favourite way of adding to a map's challenge. Also, the secret map will probably take quite a bit of tries to beat; it's TOUGH.

But all in all, I warmly recommend this episode, if you don't mind challenging gameplay. After finishing a map, I was hungry to play the rest of the maps, and that's a very good sign in my book.

nxanthos Registered, rated this a 4 4 April 2020, 7:25

Once I learned that this episode was created by the mind behind Doom Plutonia, I was definitely interested, but some words of warning...

(1) I played on hard, and the experience reminded me of playing Plutonia with Brutal Doom: the encounters are unforgiving unless you treat them as puzzles. There's little room for experimentation because the mapper has orchestrated the experience expecting the absolute best from you.

(2) It's not always clear how to advance in a level, and this coupled with the above point can make for a frustrating experience. To be honest, I got through four maps before calling it quits. The style of gameplay encouraged by this episode isn't my kind of fun, but there's no doubt this episode takes Quake to a new (intimidating) level.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in