Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of pun
Author:Juzley & Fairweather
Title:The Punishment Due
Download:pun.zip (2e5424b7e54873988f416394b7a31b01)
Filesize:35095 Kilobytes
Release date:15.03.2021
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_MsgboardScreenshotScreenshotScreenshotScreenshotScreenshot
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
gfx/env/bal_swampn_bk.tga3073 KB21.01.2018
gfx/env/bal_swampn_dn.tga3073 KB21.01.2018
gfx/env/bal_swampn_ft.tga3073 KB21.01.2018
gfx/env/bal_swampn_lf.tga3073 KB21.01.2018
gfx/env/bal_swampn_rt.tga3073 KB21.01.2018
gfx/env/bal_swampn_up.tga3073 KB21.01.2018
gfx/env/purplenebula_bk.tga769 KB01.11.2020
gfx/env/purplenebula_dn.tga769 KB01.11.2020
gfx/env/purplenebula_ft.tga769 KB01.11.2020
gfx/env/purplenebula_lf.tga769 KB01.11.2020
gfx/env/purplenebula_rt.tga769 KB01.11.2020
gfx/env/purplenebula_up.tga769 KB01.11.2020
maps/pun1.bsp3191 KB06.03.2021
maps/pun1.lit1068 KB06.03.2021
maps/pun1.map2133 KB06.03.2021
maps/pun2.bsp2769 KB06.03.2021
maps/pun2.lit1227 KB06.03.2021
maps/pun2.map3838 KB26.02.2021
maps/pun3.bsp7811 KB06.03.2021
maps/pun3.lit2883 KB06.03.2021
maps/pun3.map8195 KB26.02.2021
maps/pun4.bsp11452 KB07.03.2021
maps/pun4.lit4364 KB07.03.2021
maps/pun4.map11508 KB07.03.2021
maps/pun5.bsp3033 KB07.03.2021
maps/pun5.lit1229 KB07.03.2021
maps/pun5.map3273 KB26.02.2021
maps/start.bsp984 KB25.02.2021
maps/start.lit695 KB25.02.2021
maps/start.map231 KB25.02.2021
music/track93.ogg2804 KB23.02.2021
music/track94.ogg2466 KB23.02.2021
music/track95.ogg855 KB01.11.2020
music/track96.ogg883 KB04.02.2021
music/track97.ogg793 KB06.02.2021
music/track98.ogg3258 KB16.02.2021
pak0.pak3990 KB25.02.2021
progs.dat520 KB25.02.2021
progs/misc_smoke.mdl32 KB23.06.2020
pun.txt3 KB08.03.2021
sound/ambience/dronehum1.wav154 KB07.02.2021
sound/ambience/dronesewer1.wav338 KB07.02.2021
sound/ambience/dronewind1.wav108 KB07.02.2021
sound/ambience/waterriver1.wav181 KB06.02.2021
sound/misc/energypulse1.wav97 KB07.02.2021

pun.zip

The Punishment Due

Episode with five medium to large maps in varying themes plus a start map. It is based on the Copper mod (included) and comes with two custom skyboxes, a few sounds and music tracks. The map sources are included.

Note: These maps require a source port with increased limits + BSP2 support.


Tags: episode, large, copper, base, medieval, bricks, skybox, sounds, music, limits, bsp2, source

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.9/5 with 32 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
fairweather Registered, rated this a 5 21 March 2021, 9:44

I'm an author on this one!

h4724 Registered, rated this a 5 21 March 2021, 12:16

I'm glad I'm not in the habit of ranking things, because doing so for all the Copper episodes coming out nowadays would be really hard.

This one in particular is great for so many reasons. There are tons of really creative encounter setups and map layouts, polished and atmospheric visuals reminiscent of Underdark Overbright (I feel like the comparisons will be inescapable, but it is a good thing to be compared to), a complete custom soundtrack(!) which sounds unlike any music I've heard in Quake before but nonetheless fits the atmosphere well, really impressive scripting that makes the most of Copper's features, and all done consistently over 5 decently-sized maps.

I quite enjoyed many of the secrets too, but I did find almost all of them without too much searching. Not sure if that's because they're too easy or if I'm somehow psychicly linked with Juzley when it comes to secrets. Only other things I can find to criticise here are minor visual nitpicks.

JP Guest 21 March 2021, 12:37

God, this was a great experience. Julian has a brilliant sense of pacing, flow, and escalating challenge.

The texture work and architecture is beautiful, but always in service to the gameplay. Secrets were a little on the easy side, which I like, because it made me feel smart.

Alot of people have compared this as a companion piece to Underdark, Overbright - its a modern classic in the same way, and because it's mostly the work of one person, there's a consistency throughout that makes the whole experience go down real smooth.

Finally, aside from the start map, Julian has done his own music for these levels. They totally slap - brooding like the original quake soundtrack, but with some more synthesizer noodling to give it its own character.

One of the few 10/10 quake experiences for me - alongside UDOB and AD.

I Like Quake Guest 22 March 2021, 16:02

These maps rock!

I noticed they got the Nail Gun fixed (the nails are not ejected from the sides anymore). Does anybody know the .pak files that correspond to this change so I can put them in the original ID1 folder and have the fixed version all around?

h4724 Registered, rated this a 5 22 March 2021, 16:32

That nailgun change is from Copper. Copper should be compatible with all id1 maps.

I Like Quake Guest 22 March 2021, 17:18

Yeah, but I wanted to put them in the original ID1 folder so that the fixed version would appear in every other game folder I have, not just the COPPER one.

I'd also like to replace the modified Super Nail Guns from COPPER and AD with the original ID one, which shoots one precise stream of nails.

h4724 Registered, rated this a 5 22 March 2021, 17:29

You'd have to make your own mod if you want to mix and match features from existing mods.

I Like Quake Guest 22 March 2021, 17:39

One great thing about Quake that I appreciate is that it's highly modular. Many times it suffices to just swap a few files here and there and get the desired effect. It's just that sometimes it's difficult for a non-developer to figure them out.

That being said, I'm very grateful for all the content this wonderful community releases and shares.

I Like Quake Guest 23 March 2021, 16:20

Alright, so here's a fix by seven :

http://shub-hub.com/files/mods_singleplayer/NailgunNailPosition.zip.

On closer examination it seems that PUN (and generally AD and COPPER) have only a partial fix: if you shoot the Nail Gun looking up you can still see the nails coming out from the sides.

The link above offers a complete fix.

Put the progs.dat in a game folder and run it as a mod or overwrite the original progs.dat in the ID1 pak to have the fix all around (in all game folders that use the original ID1 Nail Gun and not a modified version, like AD or COPPER).

I Like Quake Guest 23 March 2021, 19:26

Note: If a game folder has a progs.dat of its own the fix might not take effect.

Andrew Guest 23 March 2021, 21:49

Damn it's cool but hard even on medium difficulty! Amazing work! But it always annoys me when mobs calmly walk under water. In Dark places this can be fixed and mobs die in slime and lava. I don't remember about the water.

10/10

Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 4 24 March 2021, 12:59

Tackling this map pack after the demanding Torrent of Impurities was kind of relaxing. For once, I even gave Copper's Nightmare mode a try (and it was easy to find, so I thought: "Why not?"). Some parts were tough but most of the time an easier way out of difficult fights was available, most notably that moving platform over the void in the last map.

The atmosphere in those maps was also great. Maybe a bit more fog in places would have added to the general feeling. If I had to nitpick, I'd complain about the lack of a boss fight. But more importantly, this simply means that time went by so quickly playing those maps that the end felt very abrupt. I hope there's more coming our way -- well, I know there is, and I do hope you submit your abandoned work to the scrap thread over at func.

Thanks a lot for this mini-episode!

The_Pirate Registered, rated this a 5 1 April 2021, 11:16

A series of beautiful, well-made maps. I really enjoyed these! :)

alekswithak Registered, rated this a 5 2 April 2021, 6:40

this was really good. i like Juz.

Agentflit Registered, rated this a 5 2 April 2021, 8:24

Fantastic, fantastic, fantastic. Everything I'd like to say has already been said. These maps are MEATY.

Also I agree with Gioyo3aa that this pack was the perfect palate cleanser after Torrent of Impurities.

Easy 10/10 the whole way through, and in fact this might be my favorite copper pack yet!

human[rus] Registered, rated this a 5 4 April 2021, 10:45

very good work!

Jehannum Registered, rated this a 5 4 April 2021, 18:17

I really enjoyed this episode pack. It's easily a 5-star experience for me on skill 2 using QSS 0.93.2. I'm back playing SP Quake after a multi-year hiatus. Out of curiosity, I had to see what had become of my beloved Quake and if people were still writing code and building new levels, and I haven't been disappointed! I've recently finished Arcane Dimensions and all the external maps I could find, and now I'm working my way through the goodness that is Copper and I just can not get over the quality of gameplay and the ingenious level design, as well as the fantastic mods and the newest engines to take advantage of them! Anyway, I had extreme fun with the 5 maps of the aptly named, 'The Punishment Due', especially the tough combat of 'Let Them Eat Quake', the diabolically fun ending of 'Tour De Vores', and the punishing 'Orgre and Out'. I just want to say a big THANKS to everyone who has anything whatever to do with creating this quality content and with making it available!

Johnny Law Registered, rated this a 5 15 April 2021, 20:42

Collecting my thoughts from func_msgboard:


Composing your own music is an unfair superpower for SP maps. Really enjoying the effect. Some of the synth-y stuff has the Doom feel of the map sort of snickering at you in a "just you wait" fashion.

BTW what tune are you quoting in track96 (pun3)? Probably something obvious but I'm blanking on it.

I've just played up through pun3 so far, skill 2. Some really brutal but fun combat surprises! (That sequence of biosuits and buttons... hah.)

Also in general I can tell this is a Juzley joint. The crisp structures with big pieces that open up to make swiss-cheese paths; high-visibility but still with interesting lighting. IMO your best builds yet.

pun3 sure feels like it puts some miles under your ranger-boots. I've got to take a breather. :-) (In a good way.)


pun4 was a trip. I can see how some folks could think it dragged... I think for me though it landed in a pretty good zone, continually revealing new interesting areas/connections that fit into my mental model of the place. That's always a cool feeling!

One bit of the design that was crucial IMO was the button-count indicators placed over the four paths. Those really went a long way toward reducing the where-to-go-next anxiety, and I think for a big map it's VERY nice to be able to "cross off the list" some subsection of the map.

It wouldn't surprise me if some players didn't notice those indicators though! Which would be unfortunate.


...and that's pun5 done. Yep pretty tough. :-) Fight-bites were of the right size that it was fun to quick-reload a few times to try various stuff until it worked.

The last room was maybe the least interesting? which was too bad but hey... still batting a high percentage here.

Quick bug report (I think): I wasn't able to pick up the green armor that was on one of those up-and-down moving grates. Playing with QSS.

Anyway, a stellar release. Got to bug more folks to try it out!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in