Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of red777
Author:Kell
Title:Red 777
Download:red777.zip (3db487e071edc2e4fb00be43d971e870)
Filesize:1845 Kilobytes
Release date:05.11.2005
Homepage:http://kell.quaddicted.com/
Additional Links: erc's ExcellenceTronyn's Top 10: Elder WorldUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘
Dependencies:quoth

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
red777.txt2 KB05.11.2005
red777.bsp4690 KB19.10.2005

red777.zip - Red 777

Large interconnected red Knave-style castle with excellent construction and an insane number of secrets.

Note: This map requires Quoth.


Tags: quoth, knave, huge, secrets, medium, mustplay

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.7/5 with 23 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
Daz, rated this a 4 22 December 2011, 17:41
Playthrough with optional commentary (should be live in about a hour) http://youtu.be/CDnruRqqfBk
MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 12 November 2013, 11:23

Magnificently bewildering, very tough combats that need several attempts to figure out, and a astounding number of secrets. (I found about half). One of the Quake levels that lives the most strongly in the memory. Love it!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 12 November 2013, 11:23

BTW., I'd love to see a complete Secret List.

dBAudio Registered, rated this a 5 6 February 2014, 1:36

i don't have a list, but i found all the secrets, no cheats. GREAT map. it also took me several attempts at some points.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 6 February 2014, 14:44

I, too, would love to see a Secrets Guide. But with or without it, this is a beautiful level, if a tad over-reliant on teleports. For that reason I score it a low five instead of the high five it would have scored had it been more physically interconnected. Still a five, though :-)

wansoft Registered, rated this a 4 20 June 2014, 8:29

This map needs Quoth. Please add to description.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 4 20 June 2014, 12:20

Added.

Spirit Registered 20 June 2014, 15:43

It says Quoth both in the tags and the dependencies (and the readme). I don't think a note in the description is needed. Maybe I should move the dependency display below the description though, like the Quake Injector does.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 4 21 June 2014, 0:01

That was my initial reaction too -- but on the other hand, there's no harm in adding it to the description, right? Squad 768 notes the Quoth requirement in the map description; in fact, I just copied & pasted it from there.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 4 20 November 2014, 17:53

After several false starts, I have finally played through this map. Although it is obviously well-made, I was initially put off by the very busy aesthetics (which is why I started playing it on so many occasions only to quit soon thereafter and choose a different map).

It turned out to be a fun experience. I particularly like the way finding the absurdly large number of secrets becomes a meta-game of its own, and I also really appreciate the teleporters back to "The Start" and "The Tower" -- I enjoy it when Quake maps display that kind of "Welcome to Quake"-like self-awareness.

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 4 2 May 2016, 20:37

Very cool map with great architectural detail. I really enjoyed how we pass through different sections of the same areas (always loved that kind of stuff). The relative excess of teleporters can make it a bit confusing at times though, but nothing too detracting. My only true complaint is that I wish it wasn't Quoth-dependent: I'm not especially fond of Quoth's new monsters/alternative versions and especially I WISH I COULD PLAY IT IN THE EPSILON BUILD with the fancy hi-res textures and FX.

.... Guest 2 May 2016, 22:48

bfg666

you can find Red 777 in HD here: http://quakeone.com/forums/quake-mod-releases/works-progress/11588-hd-textures-sp-maps.html

HD Quoth stuff here: http://quakeone.com/forums/quake-mod-releases/finished-works/10718-some-hd-stuff-use-quoth.html

don't forget Talisa´s list: http://quakeone.com/forums/quake-help/general-help/10727-definitive-hd-replacement-content-list.html

and QRP Textures: http://qrp.quakeone.com/downloads/

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 4 2 May 2016, 23:22

Awesome! Thanks for the links, I'll check them ASAP. Still wish I could get rid of Quoth, though: I've only installed it to play its dependent maps/episodes but like I said, I'm not a fan of its new monsters.

On an unrelated note, I've been unsuccessfully googling a red777 secrets walkthrough because I've only managed to find half of them (the pentagram was pretty wicked, Ziggurat Vertigo style!) and I'm not much of a puzzle guy. Does anyone happen to know where I can find one?

Ajora Registered, rated this a 5 28 September 2016, 1:32

This map deserves an award.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 28 September 2016, 9:20

Played this for the second time (first time was in 2013). It's a visual feast with a very mysterious, eldritch feel and the 6/14 secrets I found were nice. Missed the silver key. Wasn't as much of a fan of the layout--I thought it relied too much on teleports for progression, and throwing them in for shortcuts had me turned around for a bit at one point. Two multi-button hunts in a row felt a bit artificial as well. Monster placement (on skill 2) was pretty straightfoward, few surprises until the three gugs at the end which I clean forgot about--only time I had to reload saves (twice). Like all Kell maps this is definitely a mustplay for those deep into Quake but I'd rank his later maps higher, especially Gloomier Keep.

Pritchard Registered, rated this a 4 2 October 2016, 5:33

This level has a great layout, supplemented by a good level of detail that really brings it to life. Combat is almost always close and intense, which is great, and the high-damage nature of such encounters means that I was often limping along at very low health for large segments. The map is very well balanced in that regard; it knows how difficult the fights can be, so health and ammo are plentiful, if a bit poorly spread out; I found myself struggling to use my supplies at times, as it would require backtracking to reach some of the earlier health and ammo that I rarely found a need for at the time. I think I must have left at least half a dozen boxes of nails behind by the end of the map, but I finished with none in my actual inventory.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in