Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of red777
Author:Kell
Title:Red 777
Download:red777.zip (3db487e071edc2e4fb00be43d971e870)
Filesize:1845 Kilobytes
Release date:05.11.2005
Homepage:http://kell.quaddicted.com/
Additional Links: erc's ExcellenceTronyn's Top 10: Elder WorldUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘
Dependencies:quoth

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
red777.txt2 KB05.11.2005
red777.bsp4690 KB19.10.2005

red777.zip

Red 777

Large interconnected red Knave-style castle with excellent construction and an insane number of secrets.

Note: This map requires Quoth.


Tags: quoth, knave, huge, secrets, medium, planetquake-map-of-the-week

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating:
4.7/5 with 54 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








Daz 22 December 2011, 17:41
Playthrough with optional commentary (should be live in about a hour) http://youtu.be/CDnruRqqfBk
MikeTaylor Registered 12 November 2013, 11:23

Magnificently bewildering, very tough combats that need several attempts to figure out, and a astounding number of secrets. (I found about half). One of the Quake levels that lives the most strongly in the memory. Love it!

MikeTaylor Registered 12 November 2013, 11:23

BTW., I'd love to see a complete Secret List.

dBAudio Registered 6 February 2014, 1:36

i don't have a list, but i found all the secrets, no cheats. GREAT map. it also took me several attempts at some points.

MikeTaylor Registered 6 February 2014, 14:44

I, too, would love to see a Secrets Guide. But with or without it, this is a beautiful level, if a tad over-reliant on teleports. For that reason I score it a low five instead of the high five it would have scored had it been more physically interconnected. Still a five, though :-)

wansoft Registered 20 June 2014, 8:29

This map needs Quoth. Please add to description.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 20 June 2014, 12:20

Added.

Spirit Registered 20 June 2014, 15:43

It says Quoth both in the tags and the dependencies (and the readme). I don't think a note in the description is needed. Maybe I should move the dependency display below the description though, like the Quake Injector does.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 21 June 2014, 0:01

That was my initial reaction too -- but on the other hand, there's no harm in adding it to the description, right? Squad 768 notes the Quoth requirement in the map description; in fact, I just copied & pasted it from there.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 20 November 2014, 17:53

After several false starts, I have finally played through this map. Although it is obviously well-made, I was initially put off by the very busy aesthetics (which is why I started playing it on so many occasions only to quit soon thereafter and choose a different map).

It turned out to be a fun experience. I particularly like the way finding the absurdly large number of secrets becomes a meta-game of its own, and I also really appreciate the teleporters back to "The Start" and "The Tower" -- I enjoy it when Quake maps display that kind of "Welcome to Quake"-like self-awareness.

bfg666 Registered 2 May 2016, 20:37

Very cool map with great architectural detail. I really enjoyed how we pass through different sections of the same areas (always loved that kind of stuff). The relative excess of teleporters can make it a bit confusing at times though, but nothing too detracting. My only true complaint is that I wish it wasn't Quoth-dependent: I'm not especially fond of Quoth's new monsters/alternative versions and especially I WISH I COULD PLAY IT IN THE EPSILON BUILD with the fancy hi-res textures and FX.

.... Guest 2 May 2016, 22:48

bfg666

you can find Red 777 in HD here: http://quakeone.com/forums/quake-mod-releases/works-progress/11588-hd-textures-sp-maps.html

HD Quoth stuff here: http://quakeone.com/forums/quake-mod-releases/finished-works/10718-some-hd-stuff-use-quoth.html

don't forget Talisa´s list: http://quakeone.com/forums/quake-help/general-help/10727-definitive-hd-replacement-content-list.html

and QRP Textures: http://qrp.quakeone.com/downloads/

bfg666 Registered 2 May 2016, 23:22

Awesome! Thanks for the links, I'll check them ASAP. Still wish I could get rid of Quoth, though: I've only installed it to play its dependent maps/episodes but like I said, I'm not a fan of its new monsters.

On an unrelated note, I've been unsuccessfully googling a red777 secrets walkthrough because I've only managed to find half of them (the pentagram was pretty wicked, Ziggurat Vertigo style!) and I'm not much of a puzzle guy. Does anyone happen to know where I can find one?

Ajora Registered 28 September 2016, 1:32

This map deserves an award.

Lane Powell Registered 28 September 2016, 9:20

Played this for the second time (first time was in 2013). It's a visual feast with a very mysterious, eldritch feel and the 6/14 secrets I found were nice. Missed the silver key. Wasn't as much of a fan of the layout--I thought it relied too much on teleports for progression, and throwing them in for shortcuts had me turned around for a bit at one point. Two multi-button hunts in a row felt a bit artificial as well. Monster placement (on skill 2) was pretty straightfoward, few surprises until the three gugs at the end which I clean forgot about--only time I had to reload saves (twice). Like all Kell maps this is definitely a mustplay for those deep into Quake but I'd rank his later maps higher, especially Gloomier Keep.

Pritchard Registered 2 October 2016, 5:33

This level has a great layout, supplemented by a good level of detail that really brings it to life. Combat is almost always close and intense, which is great, and the high-damage nature of such encounters means that I was often limping along at very low health for large segments. The map is very well balanced in that regard; it knows how difficult the fights can be, so health and ammo are plentiful, if a bit poorly spread out; I found myself struggling to use my supplies at times, as it would require backtracking to reach some of the earlier health and ammo that I rarely found a need for at the time. I think I must have left at least half a dozen boxes of nails behind by the end of the map, but I finished with none in my actual inventory.

Gioyo3aa Registered 4 May 2019, 21:27

Very interesting map with a few surprising twists.

CnEY Registered 26 July 2021, 22:05

I became so enamored with this map as I went hunting for secrets that I ended up stubbornly finding all of them.

Since multiple folks asked for a list and I still can't find one, I made a video myself with minimal spoilers (revealing how to access secrets without revealing what's in them, where possible): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lCVGPuKfBKs

triple_agent Registered 21 August 2021, 23:34

I did not finish this map. Chaotic, confusing, cramped, contracted - these are the terms that come to my mind. Visually speaking, it does remind of "Func Map Jam 9" style and themes, which is in favor, but as it seems, the outlooks, is not all; not that "Func Map Jam 9", is all perfect either - the "Red 777", would and would not, fit in that collection.

I believe maps like that, require more liberal space approach.

Ajora Registered 26 August 2021, 3:30

This map deserves an Award

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in