Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of rubicon
Author:John "metlslime" Fitzgibbons
Title:Rubicon
Download:rubicon.zip (0b3c964f782dd305ff7f5c9f2804dc7a)
Filesize:2699 Kilobytes
Release date:25.02.1998
Homepage:http://www.celephais.net
Additional Links: erc's ExcellenceRetroquakeTEAMShamblerUnderworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
Rubicon.txt5 KB25.02.1998
pak0.pak5984 KB23.02.1998

rubicon.zip

Rubicon

Large rusty metal/industrial complex with custom textures, a few code tweaks, a start map and a cool Zelda tribute secret level.

Tags: base, industrial, rubicon, large, planetquake-map-of-the-week

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4/5 with 43 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
indstr Registered, rated this a 3 18 September 2013, 19:15

An OK level which is mediocre by 2013 standards, but was probably pretty excellent in 1998.

Apparently the map has custom textures which were used by many other mappers over the years. In that regard, the map was probably more influential than it would have been if it had just used vanilla textures.

If you're looking for a more modern play experience, I would recommend Rubicon 2 by the same author, which is much larger and has some really impressive custom enemies.

NightFright Registered, rated this a 5 4 February 2014, 13:40

May look a bit dated by now, and it's only just one map (the second map is secret and rather for the lulz considering its design), but its design cleared the path for many famous mods (such as Nehahra) that came later. So, for historical purposes (and also because it's still quite fun), I recommend playing it.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 11 December 2014, 11:57

I can only assume the bonus map (Eagle) makes more sense if you played the original, whatever that was. As a standalone, it's rather crude and repetitive (and the music doesn't help). But now, on to the main map.

BTW., has anyone figured out the legitimate way to get the the Eagle entrance (and the Nightmare pipe)? I had to cheat.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 11 December 2014, 12:37

I think this stands up much better than some other comments suggest. The base feels rugged, solid and real, and the combats are mostly pretty well judged. There's no SNG, GL, RL or LG (unless they're uncredited secrets which I missed -- I found the only official one). But that's OK: there is something grimly satisfying about smashing your way through legions of grunts and enforcers, and the occasional dog, armed only with your shotguns and the occasional nail. Painting within these lines lends Rubicon a coherence and consequently a compelling quality. It's worthy of respect for more than just what it led on to.

FredBezies Guest 13 December 2014, 16:00

For Mike : Just look at the far right of your start position. Look for a shootable button above your head...

Good old level, remembers me a lot of good things !

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 14 December 2014, 22:46

Thanks!

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 3 1 September 2016, 8:36

I think Mike is spot on about the overall quality and feel of the design, but whether you find the gameplay much fun will depend on whether you enjoy blasting through the same three (usually two) enemies over and over again. It's not that encounters are lacking in variety, they aren't, but despite that it didn't feel all that exciting. Luckily the map is not a slog.

I'd still say this is a classic, though, and worth checking out--looking at the average rating, in all likelihood you'll disagree with me. Luckily today we have at least a couple great mods with additional base enemies that any mapper can pick up and use with ease.

Quackers Registered 4 March 2019, 3:10

Eeeerrrriiieeee . . . . . ...RAAA! :)

Greenwood Guest 9 July 2019, 16:51

From a technical/historical standpoint, this is a classic Base map. I enjoyed it! Considering it adheres to Base monsters (not even reskinned ogres), I think the gameplay is fairly challenging. This is because ammo and health are tight and, as the author states in the Read Me, he put a lot of these mid-tier monsters in there to offset the limited bestiary.

If you're spoiled by Arcane Dimensions and just don't appreciate older maps, then just jump to Rubicon 2. It has new custom enemies, great graphics, and other custom tweaks. However, I think Rubicon and Antediluvian are classic metlslime maps that every Quake player should visit.

JuanchoES Registered, rated this a 4 15 March 2021, 9:41

Way too fun for a level made in 1998, impressive.

JuanchoES Registered, rated this a 4 17 March 2021, 19:22

And fun fact, the bonus level is literally the first dungeon in the legend of zelda (NES) https://www.zeldadungeon.net/Zelda01/Walkthrough/02/Eagle-Map.png

AllisonChains Registered, rated this a 4 7 September 2021, 5:01

Rubicon is an absolute classic, but that doesn't mean it's passé. The theme is exactly the kind of grungy, industrial area that fits right into Quake. It even, in some ways, visually bridges the gap between Quake and Quake II.

The enemy and weapon selection is fairly limited, but I don't feel as if it detracts from the experience. Rather, it presents a somewhat paired down experience, where you almost always feel just on the verge of being out of ammo.

SPOILER: The secret map, Eagle, is a fun little romp for fans of the Legend of Zelda. I almost wish more hidden levels could take themselves less seriously. :)

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in