Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of runeofblood
Author:Bloughsburgh
Title:Rune of Blood
Download:runeofblood.zip (39e3963f06076b671df386476bb2d016)
Filesize:2930 Kilobytes
Release date:07.02.2016
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘
Dependencies:quoth

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
MJB2HUB.bsp321 KB06.02.2016
MJB2M1.bsp2025 KB07.02.2016
MJB2M1.lit950 KB07.02.2016
MJB2M2.bsp2255 KB06.02.2016
MJB2M2.lit639 KB06.02.2016
MJB2M3.bsp622 KB06.02.2016
MJB2M3.lit161 KB06.02.2016

runeofblood.zip - Rune of Blood

Mini-episode consisting of three small levels and a start map. Some of the author's very first maps.

Note: These maps require Quoth.


Tags: episode, small, quoth, base, wizard

Editor's Rating: Poor
User Rating: 3.8/5 with 4 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 27 March 2018, 18:41

I enjoyed this, but it does feel like Bloughsburgh's first set of maps. They are solidly constructed and fun to play, but they lack the touch of brilliance in his more recent work. I vacillated over whether to award a mean three stars or a generous four, but went with generosity because Bloughsburgh's earned it by his habit of putting comprehensive secrets guides in his releases.

Two oddities: first, I finished all levels with many kills not found and dispatched: I had only 56/79 in Sierra Lima, 39/58 in Incommodious and a feeble26/50 in Sanguine Reliquary. Where are all the bad guys?

And second, I've definitely played some version of these levels before, though i think they may have been a little different. Have they been previously released under another name?

Bloughsburgh Registered 27 March 2018, 20:03

Hi Mike,

Thanks for the review, these are my second set of "test maps" I did to learn the editor and mapping process. This episode was to test Quoth elements. So you're analysis is more or less correct on the origin.

As for the strange kill totals, I incorporated Preach's Nightmare hack in order to create separate spawns for skill 3 exclusively. This had the side effect of inflating the kill total on skill 2 however. If you try these maps on skill 3, you'll see the different monster setups! (Or vice versa on skill 2) Again, it was out of my own curiosity and for the sake of experimentation. Cheers!

Maphfus Registered 19 July 2018, 19:03

Dear Spirit!

In the archive runeofblood.zip - Rune of Blood - dosn't work properly with the injector. You made it unzip into Quoth directory, instead of it is unzipped into the Quake root directory. Please fix the bug in the injector.

Your Yegor

negke Registered 19 July 2018, 21:04

Needs to be quoth/maps/. Should work now, try again.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in