Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of sadlark8
Author:Jonas N.P. Lindstrom
Title:Temple of Amon-Sadlark
Download:sadlark8.zip (2b48f3604a0ce8bc8e4d5fa33030ee60)
Filesize:794 Kilobytes
Release date:16.11.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Quake Map HotelTEAMShamblerUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
sadlark8.txt3 KB16.11.1997
sadlark8.bsp1894 KB14.11.1997

sadlark8.zip - Temple of Amon-Sadlark

Largish Egyptian-style temple with tombs, a few traps, and so on.

Tags: egptean, mythic, large, egypt, traps

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 3.9/5 with 13 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
NahkahiiR 13 November 2008, 17:45
Tighter than cat's ass.
Aen, rated this a 4 1 September 2010, 0:15
Another excellent level again. Loved that!
dBAudio Registered 3 December 2014, 11:28

tight spaces, but manageable combat and a couple traps. pretty nice overall.

Cocerello Registered, rated this a 4 21 October 2017, 13:06

Played on skill 2. All killed and all found.

Good brushwork for the time, except several parts, that while hard to notice, make the navigation way harder than what it is due to tightness, well used and aligned textures, branching linear layout with longer and less defined or leaded backtracking than in the previous map, lighting that rnages from good to too dim, combats are straightforward with not many closets and more around the corners or teleporters, around Id or lower difficulty, ammo is very tight (ended with 2 rockets and 2 cells) and health and armour quantity is over Id maps, the first insta-death trap doesn't work well but the others are good and the 4 latter secrets are given at once while the first is good, while not that needed there.

It is not as good as 5, 6 and 7, due to the tightness which hinders both the player and way more the enemies, brushwork that sticks out a few units making it harder to see and even frustrating as it cannot be prevented in advance and it cannot be figured, too dim lighting in some parts and the door to the pyramid, after being opened works wrongly and needs cheats to get past, giving 4 secrets at once that aren't even that needed is aother bad part.

On the positive, it is solid map and the parts done well provide a good fun. The texturing is well done and aligned, and the ambient fits it very well.

4-

Ζ†N Registered, rated this a 4 29 December 2017, 22:57

I really like the egyptian theme, being on par with the theme in thysis. Of course nowhere near thysis in terms of depth, but the emphasis on the dark arcane isn't lacking and the gameplay is capturing. The ammo is just right, however my only complaints would be that the there really isn't much to the pyramid itself and the end is a cakewalk.

I managed to get my time down to 7:49 but i'm sure it could be done quicker as I've spent more time fighting and a little backtracking. https://youtu.be/g-Tk1UGcPus

My current strategy has been to clean the tunnel and the entrance, then grab the invisibility and head straight to the button room on the top right, then down the hall & into the tele room, stand in front of tele & let death knight aggro fiend, tele in and clear the hall, then pull the entire courtyard and make them all fight, hop down and hit the button, mop up the courtyard then enter the tomb.. shoot the spawns through the gap in the entrance, do the run in the tomb then quad my way back to the LG room, do that bit and head back to clean up all the enemies i bypassed when invisible, kill the vore, do the shambler and that's it.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in