Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of sgc5
Author:Steve Clarke
Title:Notlob's Base
Download:sgc5.zip (45d6aa7a031bb183592b201ebee72467)
Filesize:606 Kilobytes
Release date:14.12.1996
Homepage:http://www.users.dircon.co.uk/~steve-gc/qindex.html
Additional Links: Crash'sSPQ Level Heaven
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
sgc5.bsp1393 KB14.12.1996
sgc5.txt2 KB09.12.1996
sgc5b.txt2 KB14.12.1996

sgc5.zip - Notlob's Base

Base map.

Tags: base, medium

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 3.1/5 with 11 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 3 15 December 2013, 13:23

The brushwork doesn't match with the year, it isn't something amazing, either.

xDDGx Registered, rated this a 3 28 June 2014, 21:35

Nice design, but too dark for me. I don't like the gameplay, although, I can't say it is bad or poor.

dBAudio Registered, rated this a 3 23 August 2014, 20:57

i found this to be quite enjoyable. quite short.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 3 11 July 2015, 0:14

Notlob's Base on The Quake Grave

For those of us who don't mind a decent base map every now and then, this one is not too bad! It only features the 3 base enemies (grunts, dogs, enforcers) so that's a little bit of a drawback but the fights that are there are decent.

Where the map really shines is with the overall pacing. It does a great job of telling you where to go and keeping you on track while also feeling like a bigger map than it actually is. There was a section that confused me (the part with the stairs) but it ended up that I just didn't wait long enough for the stairs to come out. Also, for 1996 and compared to a lot of the other maps available at this time, the testure usage is really good. You won't find questionable texture usage and brush oddities like you find in other early maps.

I think it's worth a playthrough!

JMP Registered, rated this a 3 8 February 2017, 18:44

Most of the rooms have high ceilings and dim lighting that seem more typical of a medieval or E4 map than a base map. One could almost say this is a medieval map with base textures. Everything is competently done, and it's quite good for its year, but I got the feeling that something was missing, like the gameplay could have been better in a way I can't really explain. 3.5/5

Esrael Registered, rated this a 4 13 January 2018, 10:20

I think the map was fun. The texturing is quite rough, but, to be fair, so is id base map texturing at times as well. The brushwork was good for the time.

The pacing, as ArrrCee stated, was good. So good, in fact, that the flaws brought up by the other reviewers feel insignificant enough for me to rate this thing highly.

Granted, if it was released today, I'd rate this map 3/5, but as it stands, I give it 4/5.

pmk Guest 28 October 2018, 1:28

This map is much is much better than the level designer's previous level "Notlob's residence" and is a well designed functional base map with marked secrets to discover this time. The combat is average and consists of your typical base like enemies found in quake. The level's texture and brushwork is well crafted and make this map look like a stock id base map that could have been included in the original game. Overall this is a well designed map that i would recommend playing and i give it a three out of five rating.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in