Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of simplex
Author:Andrew Yoder
Title:Simplex
Download:simplex.zip (dcc5883553225f6c3304a9188fc96246)
Filesize:1998 Kilobytes
Release date:04.05.2018
Homepage:http://www.andrewyoderdesign.com
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
simplexNightmare0h08m29sArcaneFiend6662019-12-06
Full completion of the map.

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
simplex.bsp2524 KB04.05.2018
simplex.lit1084 KB04.05.2018
simplex.map1629 KB04.05.2018
simplex_readme.txt2 KB04.05.2018

simplex.zip

Simplex

Large green jungle temple with some puzzles involving ancient machinery. Sort of a sequel to Ruins of Mazotac. The map source is included.

Tags: large, wizard, green, jungle, swamp, temple, ruins, brick, puzzles, source

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating:
4.3/5 with 36 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








Esrael Registered 24 June 2018, 12:56

I've already reviewed this map at func, so I'll leave a link here.

Kind of hard to choose between 4 and 5 hearts, though. Maybe I'd rate the map somewhere between 4,25 and 4,5 so I guess that rounds it to 4 hearts, then.

JMP Registered 25 June 2018, 23:49

I thought Ruins of Mazotec was kind of lame and couldn't understand all the enthusiasm for that map... this has the same aesthetics and similar mechanical devices, but the overall design is a huge improvement. The map has a strong atmosphere, and the layout is also quite nice and intricate with branching paths a la Gloom Keep and good use (and occasional re-use) of space. The secrets are good, with one complex secret that has multiple triggers and another that features an intense ambush. The only weak spot IMO is the combat, which I found repetitive except for the end fight and the aforementioned ambush. Still, all in all, a great map. I agree with Esrael about it being between a 4 and a 5, call it a 9/10.

MikeTaylor Registered 12 October 2018, 16:12

I really enjoyed this. To my surprise, the biggest win was not mechanisms, but the difficulty balance. Many times I found myself reduced to low health, but surviving. Genuinely interesting and strategic combats, and plenty of them. And some ammo-conservation problems that somehow were interesting rather than punitive. I'm awarding the full five hearts despite the slightly garish over-lit textures, because what's Quake about if not fun?

Lane Powell Registered 18 December 2018, 21:26

Yup, great map.

I liked the progression mechanism of moving platforms that slide on tracks in Mazotac, but I loved it here. It's a clever alternative to doors that offers a lot of possibilities to mappers.

Solomoriah Registered 8 May 2019, 16:51

The moving pillars were quite cool. Challenges were good, architecture was appealing. Very nice overall.

erc Registered 21 September 2020, 8:20

This one's a great improvement over the debut from this author. Decidedly old-school (due to blocky architecture) with an adventurous flow, coupled with fun secrets.

Lane Powell Registered 11 July 2022, 1:51

Revisiting this with the Copper mod and it holds up pretty well. Thematically it's cool to see things like electric paneling integrated into the otherwise typical swampy stone environment. I wish a little bit more had been done with moving platforms but what's done is pretty cool nonetheless. There are some pretty nasty fights on skill 2 and the layouts are mostly pretty good, with one or two standout areas, but a couple others that I thought were a bit cramped or had sticky geometry.

Recommended overall for a quick, tough little romp with some cool ideas. 4/5

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in