Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of sksp2b
Author:skacky
Title:Conference of the Shamblers
Download:sksp2b.zip (48277603b7f6c97d5ebaf814eaaa04ee)
Filesize:6703 Kilobytes
Release date:01.01.2014
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘
Dependencies:quoth

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
sksp2.bsp13869 KB01.01.2014
sksp2.lit4055 KB01.01.2014
sksp2.map8688 KB01.01.2014
sksp2.txt3 KB01.01.2014

sksp2b.zip - Conference of the Shamblers

Huge Knave-style fortress with many enemies and secrets. The map source is included.

Note: This map requires Quoth and an engine port with increased limits.


Tags: knave, large, boss, source, city, quoth, limits

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.1/5 with 18 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
Breezeep Registered, rated this a 5 2 January 2014, 21:54

Awesome!

Dingo Harry Guest 3 January 2014, 1:33

It was very good, but some of the scripts didn't work for me (notably, after hitting the two switches, the gate to the silver key did not open, and in the "are you worthy" challenge, after killing the knights, nothing happened).

Lord Vorkosiga, Guest 3 January 2014, 16:03

Very nice map! Could be a little bit harder (played on Nightmare), with stronger monsters (Quoth has plenty of them). Also, big map, but maybe some areas could be more exploited (access to roof in open areas for example).

However, very impressive, it took me 2 hours to finish it and find all secrets!

user7346 Registered 3 January 2014, 18:32

Nice map! no problems / nightmare / darkplaces

jdstoner Registered, rated this a 5 3 January 2014, 20:47

this is just the kind of place i love to do my killing grate environment! what a way to start the new year!

LeopolD Guest 3 January 2014, 22:04

Excellent map, I liked the geometric approach on some areas! Nice, very straight ahead gameplay.

LeopolD Guest 4 January 2014, 14:09

symmetric, not geometric

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 6 January 2014, 16:40

What, no Shamblers wearing name tags and drinking stale coffee? That's flagrant false advertising!

….

Other than that, though, it's a really impressive release and one of the best-looking Knave maps yet. A majestic start to the new year indeed.

Love the abundance of secrets (and I am very happy that the trend with custom maps seems to be to include an ever-greater number of secrets). The silver key room is particularly nice: is it an intentional homage to the first map of Q3A? I also really liked the rocky outdoor/cave area, which provided some much-needed visual variety (it could in fact have been bigger and more elaborate in my opinion).

Combat was fair (if a bit heavy on teleporting monsters at times) with adequate weapons and ammo. Monster selection was spot-on. Normally I am not a fan of orchestrated fights where you get locked in and have to kill all the monsters to proceed, but here it was done very well and never felt unfair. There were some complaints on func_msgboard that the boss fight was too easy, but I thought it was fine (maybe the complaints were only about the beta version of the map?). Likewise some people thought enemy placement should have been less symmetrical, but I liked it, as it gives the player the opportunity to strategise.

Bookshelf textures were perhaps ever so slightly over-used at times and I agree with Lord Vorkosiga that it's a pity more was not made of the exterior architecture. There is one particularly lovely exterior scene with some towers (when you press a button near some lava shortly after getting the silver key) which the player never really sees; you need to noclip to have a decent look at it, since during normal gameplay the angle is too low. Indoor lighting could perhaps have been a little darker/varied, but was still very nice.

I really hope we get to see more maps from Skacky.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 9 January 2014, 15:51

I thought this was very beautiful to look at, and a lot of fun to play. But I had to knock a point off because it felt very arbitrary -- more like a Quake level than like a real place. For example, there was no revisiting earlier areas at a higher level, which always helps to tie the geography together -- just a sequence of (very nice) set pieces. Still, I'm glad to have played it.

Daz Registered 14 January 2014, 16:13
tb Guest 15 January 2014, 23:16

A good effort from a new designer. The rooms look good but to stand alongside the greatest Quoth/Knave maps of the past, it would benefit firstly from more inter-connectivity between the larger areas, some of which were underused or revisited only by backtracking, and secondly from a bit more difficulty to give that dread atmosphere. Also some of the symmetrical areas where you are essentially doing the same thing twice could be done without. Lots of fun, thanks for this Skacky.

spy Guest 15 March 2014, 17:24

Great map, from a great mapper. A five star map. Kells knave texes are really shine here. I'd like to see more from you in future, especially Thiefgold missions Keep it up!

mmm Registered, rated this a 4 26 March 2014, 22:33

Huge indeed.

Qmaster Registered, rated this a 5 28 March 2014, 2:16

Very very well built. Great map overall. Very solid. A few parts felt a bit empty, while others were a bit overwhelming. The gameplay balance wasn't the best, but it is still a great map. Fantastic looking!

5/5

bfg666 Registered 19 August 2016, 0:32

I'm having a problem: after getting the rune, I have to fight some scrags and fiends, but as soon as I kill the last enemy, the game crashes to console and gives me this:

CALL2 596(WriteByte)() : centerprint : centerprinttoall : SUBUseTargets : multitrigger : multiuse : SUBUseTargets : multitrigger : counteruse : SUBUseTargets : monsterdeathuse : Killed : TDamage : spiketouch : centerprint WriteDest: Not a client Host_Error: Program error

So I'm unable to finish this map. And before you ask, I run Quoth under QuakeSpasm 0.91. Any idea?

bfg666 Registered 19 August 2016, 0:39

Umm... text formatting seems a bit odd on this site. The error message should have line breaks before each ":" and I never typed any italic format. Also, all underscores but one have been replaced with spaces.

bfg666 Registered 19 August 2016, 0:47

*either replaced with spaces or simply ignored.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 19 September 2016, 13:55

bfg666, comments use Markdown: follow the link just above the commenting area for instructions. Underscores begin or end italics, unless preceded with a backslash: so "_this_" looks like this.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 19 September 2016, 13:56

BTW., I replayed this, and it confirmed my earlier assesment: beautiful and enjoyable, but doesn't feel like a place.

bfg666 Registered 19 September 2016, 15:36

Thanks, Mike. I had never encountered a forum with this behavior before and I didn't know what Markdown was.

So, what about my crash issue? Anyone?

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 19 September 2016, 20:13

No idea, sorry. I've been using Quakespasm 0.90 on Ubuntu GNU/Linux and it worked fine.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in