Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of slaughtr
Author:Neil Manke
Title:The Slaughterhouse
Download:slaughtr.zip (cc9bca3fe0c028e517a93f76035478f5)
Filesize:563 Kilobytes
Release date:05.05.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'sQuake TerminusUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
slaughtr.bsp1449 KB29.04.1997
Slaughtr.txt8 KB05.05.1997

slaughtr.zip - The Slaughterhouse

Small to medium-sized realism map with custom textures, set in a slaughterhouse, complete with bloody slaughter areas, freezer, and manager's office.

Tags: realistic, realism, medium, traps, puzzles, textures

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 2.9/5 with 11 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Gilgamesh 22 October 2009, 16:55
There is a nice review of this map by Ryan "quakis" Rouse here: http://taw.duke4.net/2009/10/quake/the-slaughterhouse-2/
Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 26 December 2013, 11:55

Thanks for that link, Gilgamesh. I second the recommendation – that is a nice review.

As for the map: it is very original in terms of both setting and gameplay. The slaughterhouse itself is appropriately bloody and gory, with lots of great little details all over the place, as one would probably expect from a Neil Manke map. Gameplay partly involves using the machinery of the place to kill powerful monsters (a bit like in spd's Cogs of Conflict) and partly finding your way around and through the abattoir in an engaging, exploratory fashion (and it is at least to some extent non-linear: I accidentally stumbled upon at least two very distinct routes at one point). Of course you get to shoot monsters along the way too.

Sometimes the gameplay works better in theory than in practice, though, as it can be hard to get the monsters to stay in the right place for the machinery to work – but perhaps that is supposed to be part of the challenge. Navigating the bloody drainage system can be somewhat frustrating too, as it is often really hard to see where you're going with all the red everywhere. Lastly it is possible to get stuck on certain buttons and you need to use noclip to get free (I am not sure whether this is an engine compatibility issue, though) and there is at least one instance where (as far as I can tell) you cannot get out of a pool of blood, as it is too far below ground level. There is a similar problem in Neil Manke's “Monastry” (although you do not have to enter the pool in slaughtr, though so it is less of an issue here), which may be due to differences in DOS Quake and modern engines, according to a comment by negke on a review of Monastry.

It is a real pity the map is plagued by these little issues, as they do detract from the overall experience. It is still worth a look, in my opinion, and (as far as I know) an underexplored theme in Quake SP.

dBAudio Registered, rated this a 3 4 October 2014, 17:25

definitely interesting. i also got stuck on those buttons. in the 'juicing' pool, i had to rocket my way out.

Doubter Guest 4 November 2018, 16:49

How am I supposed to open the door with the "Damn! Frozen shut?" message?

Esrael Registered, rated this a 5 4 May 2019, 17:20

I think this was a super cool, creative, funny and fun map. It was fun operating the machinery, gibbing monsters and reading messages. A few nitpicks would be the slightly cramped spaces where it's pretty easy to get stuck in geometry and a couple of buttons where I got stuck upon pressing them.

Surprisingly I was able to get out of the rocket launcher pool. I was playing on Quakespasm-spiked and got up from the pool by hugging one of the corners of the pool while pressing the jump button, if I recall correctly.

For the time, I think the map is very novel and the whole slaughterhouse concept has been executed really well, from graphics all the way down to gameplay elements that the small nitpicks don't really bother me much. At the time of writing this review I feel like rating this 4,5/5.

Doubter, you have to open the door from the other side. Go to the room with the semi-auto-giber; run quickly through the chute next to the giber, go to the control room and press all the three buttons and continue with the map. You'll eventually come across the frozen door.

Jugador Registered 4 May 2019, 22:42

Hi, Esrael. I'm Doubter, now a registered user. Thanks for the tips. I'll keep them in mind when I replay this map, although I found it quite ugly and not very enjoyable the first time.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in