Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of sm176_pack
Author:Cocerello, DOOMer, Drew
Title:Speedmapping pack 176 - Quantity over Quality
Download:sm176_pack.zip (dee8d500179a97b554c46443dd080b15)
Filesize:3452 Kilobytes
Release date:30.08.2014
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard release thread
Type:Speedmapping
BSP: ✘ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
sm176_coce.bspNightmare0h01m14sCocerello6662014-09-02
Speedrun

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
sm176_coce.bsp2172 KB29.08.2014
sm176_coce.lit1369 KB29.08.2014
sm176_coce.map1150 KB29.08.2014
sm176_cocerello.txt8 KB29.08.2014
sm176_doomer.bsp1019 KB29.08.2014
sm176_doomer.lit387 KB29.08.2014
sm176_doomer.txt2 KB29.08.2014
sm176_drew.bsp4828 KB28.08.2014
sm176_pack.txt2 KB29.08.2014

sm176_pack.zip

Speedmapping pack 176 - Quantity over Quality

Quantity over Quality / 3 SP maps / Cocerello (Quoth), DOOMer, Drew (Quoth)

Follows the same theme as Speedmapping Pack 67.The source for Cocerello's map is included.

Note: Cocerello's map and Drew's map require Quoth.


Tags: quoth, source, doom2, map02
User Rating:
3.4/5 with 7 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








MikeTaylor Registered 11 September 2014, 17:23

Mundane it might be, but I really enjoyed the straightforward blastfest of sm176_doomer. Sometimes I think we need more maps of this Doom-fest type.

(I've not yet successfully played the other two, as I had to reinstall my computer and Quoth doesn't work properly on the new version.)

dBAudio Registered 21 September 2014, 1:03

doomer's map was straight forward. 3/5 cocerello's map i can't quite figure out (for now). drew's map i really liked. tough, large, dark... maybe a little too dark. i was quite short on ammo in the middle of the map(missed secret?), but i had plenty at the end. 4/5

Cocerello Registered 21 September 2014, 23:38

dBAudio, have you played it on Quoth? If it isn't that, you can watch the speedrun demo i provided in this page to know what to do and where to go.

MikeTaylor Registered 10 December 2015, 12:43

Time held me green and dying/ Though I sang in my chains like the sea (sm176_drew) is a superb map, that absolutely merits its own release. It's a real shame it's buried in a speedmap pack where very few people are likely to see it. It packs the feel of a whole episode into a single level, beginning with base monsters and weapons and progressing through lava pits and big subterranean castle to a satisfying conclusion deep below the earth. Highly recommended.

(As far as I can make out, Drew has never made a full release of any of his maps -- everything he's done has been in speedmap packs. But this is not a speedmap.)

MikeTaylor Registered 10 December 2015, 16:52

Finally, Calm (sm176_calm) has some nice ideas, but is just too frustrating. Having cleared the second island and been send back to the first, I gave up and noclipped; even then, I couldn't find the way to progress. A disappointing end to an enjoyable pack.

Jugador Registered 23 February 2020, 17:13

Not sm176calm, but sm176coce. :)

Jugador Registered 23 February 2020, 17:15

Botched underscores. I meant to say sm176_calm and sm176_coce.

Jugador Registered 23 February 2020, 18:08

Drew's map deserves 4/5, even though it can't be completed if you enter the last room with less than four rockets. I had to do "give r 4" to finish. (Okay, okay, I actually typed "give r 100".)

Cocerello Registered 29 August 2022, 23:37

Forgot to put my comments here too back then.

A pack with one speedmap, one turtlemap, and what seems to be one turtlemap joined to a long speedmap.

Doomer: proper speedmap-like. Good layout, progression and looks even if it is so horizontal with minumum use of brushwork but it has very repetitive combats, more than usual for this author.

Drew: Good solid map for the most part which could pretty much be a normal release instead of on a speedmap pack. I still remember it well after all these years. The first part has better layout, more novel ideas, varied combats and polish. The second part is more straightforward and horizontal but has several instances of shooting in the complete darkness which gets old soon. Both parts could benefit from changing the placement of some ammo boxes.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in