Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Author:Greenwood, Ing-ing, Konair, quasiotter
Title:Speedmapping pack 209 - Traps
Download:sm209.zip (3aa5e62b890d38d41e2f2c0ca5834919)
Filesize:9805 Kilobytes
Release date:28.05.2020
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘
Dependencies:ad_v1_70finalad_v1_70patch1

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
sm209/docs/sm209_greenwood.txt2 KB26.05.2020
sm209/docs/sm209_konair.log1 KB27.05.2020
sm209/docs/sm209_quasiotter_readme.txt3 KB28.05.2020
sm209/maps/sm209_greenwood.bsp3359 KB27.05.2020
sm209/maps/sm209_greenwood.lit809 KB27.05.2020
sm209/maps/sm209_ing.bsp5535 KB27.05.2020
sm209/maps/sm209_konair.bsp9126 KB27.05.2020
sm209/maps/sm209_konair.lit1373 KB27.05.2020
sm209/maps/sm209_quasiotter.bsp280 KB28.05.2020
sm209/maps/sm209_quasiotter.lit56 KB28.05.2020
sm209/maps/sm209_start.bsp2282 KB28.05.2020
sm209/maps/sm209_start.lit406 KB28.05.2020
sm209/redma.txt1 KB27.05.2020
sm209/src/sm209_ing.map3223 KB27.05.2020
sm209/src/sm209_konair.map2850 KB27.05.2020
sm209/src/sm209_quasiotter.map78 KB28.05.2020
sm209/src/sm209_start.map912 KB28.05.2020

sm209.zip

Speedmapping pack 209 - Traps

Speedmapping pack 209 / Traps theme / 4 SP maps + start map. The map sources are included.

Note: These maps require Arcane Dimensions 1.71 and a source port with increased limits and/or BSP2 support.


Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 3.8/5 with 8 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
MikeTaylor Registered 23 February 2021, 16:48

It seems a bit of a cheat to include a map that was previously released stand-alone (Greenwood's Malvirta Station) as part of a speedmap pack. But since I'd enjoyed it when I played it before, I played it again — and enjoyed it again.

I would be fascinated to know how look it took Greenwood to make this map (docs/sm209_greenwood.txt doesn't say). If it really is a "speedmap" by any reasonable definition, then it's very very impressive.

MikeTaylor Registered 23 February 2021, 19:31

This Town at Night (sm209_ing) was an difficult, and not really for good reasons. Being constantly low on health is a reasonable challenge, but being constantly low on ammo gets frustrating. All the fulldark areas were just irritating: they might contain much-needed ammo or an ambush, and there's no way to figure out which except by walking in. Then the spawn ambush at the end is literally impossible to beat without prior knowledge earned by earlier deaths.

I only got one of the eight secrets, so that obviously didn't help with the ammo; then again, I found myself at the exit with only 81 of 193 kills, so who knows what else I missed?

MikeTaylor Registered 24 February 2021, 19:14

Boxes with shapes and colours and sounds (sm209_quasiotter) — I have no idea what is going on.

MikeTaylor Registered 26 February 2021, 15:40

Game Night In A Safe Haven (sm209_konair) was that rarest of things, a genuinely novel experience in Quake. It's has a framing story where you live peacefully in a house where you play Dungeons and Dragons with your friends, but find yourself transported inside the game. Lots of traps ensure, climaxing in a house full of secrets. It's a bit ugly and cramped, but charming and enjoyable.

Note: We had a database issue and recent comments are currently not available, recovery is in progress.
Please do not repost your old comments, there is a good chance they will be back!
More information

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in