Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of smej_1.0
Author:Ing-ing, Mazu, Naitelveni, NewHouse, Smilecythe, uKKo, VuRkka, zigi
Title:MENETETTYJEN VALTAKUNTA (Realm of the Lost)
Download:smej_1.0.zip (5d262563925401be647c3f32ff362552)
Filesize:154919 Kilobytes
Release date:30.12.2019
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_MsgboardPatch 1.13
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
smej/maps/start.bsp3547 KB22.12.2019
smej/maps/start.lit1444 KB22.12.2019
smej/maps/start.map1035 KB22.12.2019
smej/maps/start.txt2 KB20.11.2019
smej/maps/w1m1.bsp9721 KB30.12.2019
smej/maps/w1m1.lit2443 KB30.12.2019
smej/maps/w1m1.map10437 KB30.12.2019
smej/maps/w1m1_readme.txt2 KB30.12.2019
smej/maps/w1m2.bsp4779 KB30.12.2019
smej/maps/w1m2.lit1919 KB30.12.2019
smej/maps/w1m2.map2974 KB30.12.2019
smej/maps/w1m3.bsp4366 KB27.12.2019
smej/maps/w1m3.lit1265 KB27.12.2019
smej/maps/w1m3.map5074 KB27.12.2019
smej/maps/w1m3.txt2 KB27.12.2019
smej/maps/w1m4.bsp7023 KB24.12.2019
smej/maps/w1m4.lit2425 KB24.12.2019
smej/maps/w1m4.map4837 KB24.12.2019
smej/maps/w1m4.txt2 KB24.12.2019
smej/maps/w1m5.bsp5830 KB30.12.2019
smej/maps/w1m5.map3884 KB30.12.2019
smej/maps/w1m6.bsp7006 KB30.12.2019
smej/maps/w1m6.lit2436 KB30.12.2019
smej/maps/w1m6.map3304 KB30.12.2019
smej/maps/w1m7.bsp20929 KB30.12.2019
smej/maps/w1m7.lit7011 KB30.12.2019
smej/maps/w1m7.map10034 KB30.12.2019
smej/maps/w1m7_readme.txt2 KB28.12.2019
smej/maps/w1s1.bsp6493 KB26.12.2019
smej/maps/w1s1.lit2061 KB26.12.2019
smej/maps/w1s1.map7107 KB25.12.2019
smej/maps/w1s1.txt3 KB01.09.2019
smej/music/track117.ogg15859 KB04.08.2019
smej/music/track15.ogg13036 KB06.08.2019
smej/music/track29.ogg15346 KB04.08.2019
smej/music/track30.ogg21669 KB16.12.2019
smej/music/track31.ogg14184 KB19.12.2019
smej/music/track32.ogg7331 KB29.12.2019
smej/music/track33.ogg7295 KB29.12.2019
smej/music/track45.ogg14391 KB13.08.2019
smej/music/track66.ogg6924 KB20.11.2019
smej/pak0.pak3483 KB30.12.2019
smej/pak1.pak648 KB30.12.2019
smej/quake.rc2 KB18.06.2019
smej/smej.txt4 KB30.12.2019
smej/sound/mine/mine_idle.wav739 KB16.04.2018
smej/sound/mine/mine_screams.wav173 KB03.08.2019
smej/sound/w1m3/laugh02.wav30 KB22.07.2019
smej/sound/w1m3/laugh03.wav42 KB27.07.2019

smej_1.0.zip - MENETETTYJEN VALTAKUNTA (Realm of the Lost)

A Finnish mappers episode jam based on the Copper mod (included) with nine medium to large maps in varying themes, including a start hub and a secret level. It also features a few new sounds and music tracks by Immorpher.

Note: These maps require a source port with increased limits.
An updated version (1.13) is available here.


Tags: copper, textures, viod, secrets, puzzles

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.9/5 with 11 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
dwere Registered 1 January 2020, 1:19

Unusual, unexpected, has music. Looks like I got my present after all.

Not sure what the inspiration behind the first level was, but I immediately thought of Doom 64, followed by a more appropriate flashback of Quake 64. The former is darker than this, while the latter is infamous for its unusually colorful lighting.

Then there's YukiRaven, but her only level for Quake is rather toned down compared to her Doom works.

In any case, looking forward to playing the rest.

dwere Registered 1 January 2020, 11:17

Puzzle-heavy progression definitely reminds me of Doom 64, especially Outpost Omega with its cubist yellowish vertical maze. Except it's even more extreme here, but also more clever. I'm sure some people will hate it for this, but I'd say let them.

NewHouse Guest 1 January 2020, 16:13

Based On The Current Feedback Version 1.1 Is On It's Way.

An update to the link is coming as soon as possible, all your feedback & demos are greatly valued and will be taken account.

-smej crew

cosmaty Registered, rated this a 5 1 January 2020, 23:43

Thank you guys for great release. I passed all of maps instead of w1m2 and w1s1, because of crash-on-save issue. Please fix it. I had the same in "Of Three Plantagenets" by Ubiquitous and he found a solution in this post: http://www.celephais.net/board/view_thread.php?id=61759

dwere Registered 2 January 2020, 3:00

All four lions are in the same room, right?

anon Guest 2 January 2020, 16:55

Yes

dwere Registered 2 January 2020, 18:36

Found three of them easily, but the last one was kicking my ass until about now. The reward is pretty underwhelming for such an interesting setup. I expected it to lead to the secret level, otherwise I probably wouldn't have tried so hard.

anon Guest 2 January 2020, 22:29

Yup, one of the four is exceptionally hard, almost impossible to find.

anon Guest 2 January 2020, 22:30

The entrance to the secret level is in a later map.

anon Guest 2 January 2020, 22:30

The entrance to the secret level is in a later map.

Vasya shkolnik Guest 3 January 2020, 21:01

How open Hightmare skill?

MikeTaylor Registered 3 January 2020, 21:33

Hello, admins! Not related to the present map, but I am commenting here as it's the most recently posted map and most likely to come to someone's attention.

The link to jumpmod2+btd_complete is broken, because the + gets interpreted in an URL as meaning a space. To get to the correct page, you need this link: https://www.quaddicted.com/reviews/jumpmod2%2btd_complete.html

(It's well worth going there, by the way: it's an interesting mod and the levels are nice.)

Solomoriah Registered 4 January 2020, 6:39

About half of these levels can't be saved using Quakespasm, on LInux at least. Gah. I really wish someone would fix this... my hardware doesn't run Darkplaces well at all.

dwere Registered 4 January 2020, 11:46

vkQuake on Windows worked for me.

dwere Registered 5 January 2020, 1:04

Level 1 soaked most of the creativity in the pack. So many neat little things about the progression and secrets. Although my determination to solve the main optional puzzle made me really weary of it in the end. For those who are reading this, but missed my older comments: it's probably not worth it. Death pits could use a second chance system demonstrated in Underdark Overbright, because as it is the LG platforming challenge is a savescumming fest.

Level 4 (showcased on the screenshot), on the other hand, represents the highest point of immersion. I wish it was a little longer and/or more complex, as it ends roughly when I expected to be at the 2/3 of it. It gave me a Dark Souls feeling due to its uhhhh let's call it structural depth - a number of distinct setpieces that nevertheless feel connected as parts of the same decaying ruin, with history and purpose to its structures.

The rest is adequate, but those were the highlights for me, aside from the last level, which is remarkable for its evil theme somewhat resembling Nyarlathotep, but set in a pitch-black void instead of an endless cosmos. It exemplifies the pack's monotonous pacing: pick up an item - get an ambush in your face, press a button - get an ambush in your face, scratch your butt - you get the idea. This may be a good way to provide the player with constant shooting, but it leaves little room for suspense. Highlight encounter: spawn pit. Very unpleasant, good paranoia.

Mines are cool and slightly underused. I'd lift them into something of my own making, except maybe implementing them as a more dynamic mdl actor. Scourge of Armagon has a similar thing that could serve as a basis for the model.

What else? A couple of misplaced textures, and there is no water vis in a few maps, causing rare and generally inoffensive glitches for people playing with water alpha less than 1 (an otherwise good idea with this pack).

dwere Registered 5 January 2020, 1:08

OG Quakespasm might have less pleasant consequences for translucent water with no vis, because it tries to render warping in the background or something, but I forgot about it.

MikeTaylor Registered 5 January 2020, 10:53

Comment intended for Jumpmod2: cannot presently be added to that page due to the HTML-encoding error. I will copy-paste it across when that is fixed.

Sadly, this seems to be missing out on everyone's attention because of an HTML coding error triggered by this page's name having a "+" in it. In a URL, this is getting interpreted as a space, and so clicking the map name in the list takes you to a 404. You can only get get using https://www.quaddicted.com/reviews/jumpmod2%2btd_complete.html

Aaanyway, I really enjoyed it. The double-jump boots — and then triple-jump, when you collect another pair — are a genuinely interesting addition to the Quake armory, and the three levels I saw were all well designed and beautifully textured. A definite five stars, even though I seem to be missing one or maybe two of the maps. (Only one if the start map counts as one of the advertised five.)

QuakeFreak Registered, rated this a 5 7 January 2020, 4:54

It's been a long time since I have had to turn the difficulty down to 1 to get through a set of maps. I mean that in the best way possible as the balance in all these maps is perfect. Challenging in both combat and map design. I don't know how you guys keep coming up with such fresh feeling maps for such an old game. The last map (sorry I'm too lazy to go back and look at the titles) is a masterpiece. This whole map pack is a masterpiece. Keep up the great work.

NewHouse Registered 7 January 2020, 21:29

[Update] SMEJ Patch 1.13 is out!

DOWNLOAD LINK

http://quakeworld.fi/files/smej/smej_1.13.zip

Changelog

1.13 07.01. 2020 -Tuned puzzles and monster balance. -Fixed scripting issues. -Fixed some texture issues.

-Tweaked navigation, coop setup etc.

1.0 30.12. 2019 -Original release.

qazzaq Registered, rated this a 5 10 January 2020, 7:57

Incredible w1m1 - Valovoimala/Light Reactor by Smilecythe seems to be a tribute to old smqx11digs (Closedarea) by digs, or inspired by it? In any way, both maps is great.

DH1988 Registered 14 January 2020, 8:19

Still on the first map. This is by far the most challenging map I have played because of the puzzles/traps.. I really have no idea where the 2nd gold key is for the teleporter.. Any hints? First time I've needed one

zigi Registered, rated this a 5 15 January 2020, 17:34

DH1988 you need to puzzle your way up for both gold keys, after getting the two silver keys. One's up where you need to shoot the 2 red cubes that lowers and lifts the two platforms and the other one is where there's 3 lifts with shootable buttons.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in