Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of sofsp1
Author:Neil Manke
Title:Soldier of Fortune, Inc.: Episode One
Download:sofsp1.zip (da67c9905dd5b2bf3f2d23267c532ba4)
Filesize:2274 Kilobytes
Release date:19.10.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: erc's QualityGeniac's PlaylistQuake Map HotelQuake TerminusSPQ Level Heaven
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
sofsp1.txt10 KB19.10.1997
pak0.pak4855 KB19.10.1997

sofsp1.zip - Soldier of Fortune, Inc.: Episode One

Military realism mod. All custom textures, modified and reskinned monsters, friendly soldiers and some other stuff. Includes the first of three maps: a small jungle canyon/village leading to the entrance of a secret biolab facility. It is connected to sofsp2.

Tags: sof, mission, story

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 3.1/5 with 8 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
hkBattousai, rated this a 3 21 May 2012, 21:37
Good if you like solving difficult puzzles. Bad if you play just for dashing and massacring.
marco.nadal.75 Registered 24 September 2013, 8:28

Incompatible with Quake HD Pack. Doesn't work properly in DP either -- the briefing room has a suitcase that presumably gives you a silver key to go out and select your skill level before hitting your bunk, but it doesn't seem to work as intended.

Go "skill 0", then map "sof1", or just noclip through the briefing room door. The initial firefight is confusing, as the enemies look identical to your team mates. Maybe this is intentional, you are fighting soldiers from your own army?

Anyway, you start with no weapons, so grab the nailgun and take the underwater passage to find SSG and rocket launcher, which acts like a key item in this case... you'll see.

Definitely worth testing! Some cool effects, like riding in a chopper and jungle at night theme.

marco.nadal.75 Registered 24 September 2013, 8:33

Actually, the silver key is supposed to be in the vent above the filing cabinet. I already checked it before reading the spoiler in the readme, it doesn't show up there, either. :-(

marco.nadal.75 Registered 24 September 2013, 8:50

Works correctly in DirectQuake ^_^

dBAudio Registered, rated this a 4 30 November 2014, 18:35

the only two problems i had were: 1. with the chopper at the beginning. i 'got stuck' if i didn't jump immediately and repeatedly, once the map is visible. 2. the 'push' function under water forced me past the alcove with the red painted face. i had to noclip into it. everything else seemed to work with the Requiem engine through the Quake Injector.

overall, a nice concept. i thought the fiend & shambler skins were well done! i made sure i had sof2.zip installed to 'complete the mission.'

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in