Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of sp_maxx
Author:MortalMaxx
Title:Secrets of the Keep
Download:sp_maxx.zip (ec04b20e852ebbc98fccbb9bd833fcea)
Filesize:29606 Kilobytes
Release date:08.04.2020
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔
Dependencies:ad_v1_70finalad_v1_70patch1

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
gfx/env/grimmnight_bk.tga3073 KB06.01.2018
gfx/env/grimmnight_dn.tga3073 KB06.01.2018
gfx/env/grimmnight_ft.tga3073 KB06.01.2018
gfx/env/grimmnight_lf.tga3073 KB06.01.2018
gfx/env/grimmnight_rt.tga3073 KB06.01.2018
gfx/env/grimmnight_up.tga3073 KB06.01.2018
maps/sp_maxx.bsp39604 KB08.04.2020
maps/sp_maxx.lit7938 KB08.04.2020
music/track23.ogg12135 KB08.04.2020
progs/maxx/autumntree_maxx.mdl266 KB27.03.2020
progs/maxx/chair.mdl10 KB27.10.2019
progs/maxx/dopefish.mdl621 KB29.03.2020
progs/maxx/flame_pyre.mdl84 KB27.10.2019
progs/maxx/pine_maxx.mdl316 KB11.11.2019
progs/maxx/pine_scraggy_maxx.mdl255 KB11.11.2019
progs/maxx/pine_small_maxx.mdl319 KB11.11.2019
progs/maxx/shubby.mdl235 KB10.03.2020
progs/maxx/stool.mdl8 KB27.10.2019
progs/maxx/wpn_rack.mdl22 KB13.09.2019
sound/maxx/bell.wav468 KB24.10.2019
sound/maxx/sea.wav197 KB06.04.2020
sp_maxx.txt2 KB08.04.2020
src/blockout.map1397 KB10.03.2020
src/sp_maxx.map10164 KB08.04.2020

sp_maxx.zip - Secrets of the Keep

Huge town at nighttime with a castle and a big cathedral. It uses custom textures and comes with few new models, sounds, a custom skybox as well as a music track. The map source is included.

Note: This map requires Arcane Dimensions and a source port with increased limits + BSP2 support.


Tags: large, ad, town, city, church, citadel, castle, medieval, realism, night, makkon, textures, models, sounds, skybox, music, limits, bsp2, source, arcanedimensions

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.5/5 with 25 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
QuakeFreak Registered, rated this a 5 26 April 2020, 3:31

Very impressive map. At times you really feel like you're in a little village just outside a castle. Very good use of the little spaces between buildings for secrets. I'm quite proud of myself for finding 15 of them. :) 5 outa 5.

Dancing Zombie Guest 1 May 2020, 23:55

Nice textures. Monster count was sparse on normal, didn't play harder as I found problems. A lot of the time I could not fit in certain alleys or access areas of the map no matter how I wandered. Eventually I resorted to noclip and saw lots of inaccessible (to me) areas. Had to noclip further to progress, found gold key first, used on door, later noclipping again to progress (this happens a lot), found silver key but never anything to use it on.

Finally. I never found the exit/end despite noclipping around. Strange map, don't know why so many problems. Have played a million maps, on rare occasion I hit ones like this. shrug

PuLSaR Registered, rated this a 4 2 May 2020, 23:19

The map is well crafted but I have some complaints. The map doesn't do a good job of guiding the player. I often went to find supplies/secrets in narrow and dark spaces between houses finding a new bunch of enemies telling me that it's the main route. Also I got lost a bit after grabbing SNG. There was no clue of where to go next. I started wandering in the streets for some time until I ran into a bunch of enemies in the square with the same min-shub statue as in SNG square (at first I thought that I returned to the SNG square).

In the maps with such an interconnected layout it is necessary to guide the player: lights, arrows, monster trail. There's a lot of ways to do it. The best way is by using landmarks so the player can always define in what part of the map he is and where he needs to proceed further. Current landmarks don't do their job well cuz they are always somewhere really far between you and the samey looking streets.

Despite all of this the overall effort put into this map is really impressive. I'm looking forward to see the next map!

Solomoriah Registered, rated this a 5 12 May 2020, 17:43

Okay, I'll admit I got lost a few times at the start, but I now realize that this will be one of my all-time favorite levels. It's up there with Something Wicked and the Marcher Fortress for replayability. The architecture is multilayered, attractive, and accessible in a way I find very compelling. In other words, I loved it!

Borax Man Registered, rated this a 4 17 May 2020, 7:26

Very nice, atmospheric level with good use of the fog effect for diminishing light. It really did feel like you were in a village, running through and above it, trying to make your way out. The darkness could at times get overbearing, but that is part of the effect.

There were times I was a little unsure of where to go, but I never got lost to the point of frustration. If there is anything that could be improved, it is the use of landmarks and unique areas. Often I found myself someone I had been, but unsure at the beginning if it was a new area which looks similar, or the area I was.

The Silent Registered, rated this a 5 2 June 2020, 14:00

Amazing architecture and pretty nice gameplay, if a bit on the easy side, even on nightmare. What really makes the difference here is the incredible atmosphere and sense of place, totally immersive. I got a strong resemblance to the Attack On Titan anime, with the huge outer walls and village. Truly amazing. Well done. There are a couple of heads up to be had, though: the very open layout of the external areas allows for several potentially game breaking choiches. The one to be aware of is if you manage to get into the blue key chapel breaking through a window, you have no way of getting out, so beware that. Also, the final fight can be approached in several ways, even skipping a large part of the monsters but the exit only opens after you've killed all the Minotaurs(I think, as there's no counter). So if you find the closed doors, you need to go back and hunt down the monsters.

Agentflit Registered, rated this a 5 23 June 2020, 5:05

Went in blind, was not expecting such a huge level. Beautiful streets littered with details, and a fun layout that unfolded organically (although I got a little lost at first). Thank you for the awesome map, I had a blast!! (nightmare)

Johnny Law Registered, rated this a 5 1 August 2020, 19:48

IMO this is one of the best "castle maps" out there.

Great ambience -- the sounds, music track, architecture, and vistas give it almost a Thief 2 vibe which is enhanced by the fact that you do a lot of climbing-up and dropping-down to get into places where "you're not supposed to be". Overall a strong sense of going-on-an-adventure that reminds me a lot of Axebeard's entry in the Sewer Jam, except this is on an even larger scale.

The fact that there are "only" 250-ish monsters on skill 2 for such a big map is a reflection of good pacing (for my tastes). None of the fights could be consered horde-y until maybe near the end, but there's some nifty monster mixing and placement that make the fights fun. A couple of times I even reloaded purely to take another whack at doing a particular setpiece in a different way.

I love the way the map opens up in particular manner as you approach the end, and the way it leads you back to the exit once you have your full arsenal... I guess I won't comment more on either of those for spoiler reasons. Only to say that a lot of apparently inaccessible areas become accessible in a way that will seem obvious in retrospect.

I can see how some folks could get a lost a bit in the early-to-mid parts of the map. FWIW I personally had a good time with those areas; the intermittent stretches of multiple-pathing gave it more of an exploring feel, and it let me work around behind or to the side of some monster groups to pick at them. I think the fact that the streets give you visibility of some landmarks helps; also that they are "characterful" and not just interchangeable hallways. The only thing that tripped me up a bit was that two different courtyards have the Shub statue, and since I had glimpsed it in one courtyard from a doorway (without entering), when I got to the other courtyard I thought that it was the same place I had seen before which screwed up my mental map for a while.

Anyway. Great trip. :-) I think Maxx's Xmas Jam 2019 map was also a little castle which was very cool, so he's definitely got the chops for this theme!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in