Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of src
Author:JPL
Title:SRC: The Slime Refinery Complex
Download:src.zip (768355d1b0eb8fcc3bbee3e43df7f129)
Filesize:2788 Kilobytes
Release date:01.07.2007
Homepage:http://lambert.jeanphilippe.free.fr
Additional Links: erc's QualityUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘
Dependencies:quoth

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
src.bsp7007 KB01.07.2007
src.lit1582 KB01.07.2007
src.txt5 KB22.06.2007

src.zip

SRC: The Slime Refinery Complex

A base map dressed in Doom 3 textures. Pretty dark and hard.

Tags: base, doom3, quoth

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 3.8/5 with 8 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
AAS 2 January 2012, 18:17
Imbalanced map, several times you'll be ambushed by flying droids with laser that kills you in few seconds + a of other monsters, and all this in a small corridor. Good architecture anyway.

P.S.
It requires Quoth (a mod full of sick monsters).
MikeTaylor Registered 26 November 2014, 17:27

Ah yes, I remember this. Tedious, ugly, and suffers more than most maps from way-too-hard-at-the-start syndrome. I guess I'll play it all the way through again before awarding a score.

MikeTaylor Registered 27 November 2014, 13:37

Well, I hacked through to the end, though I had to cheat because I simply could not figure out what the heck I was meant to be doing in the slime tunnels. I love some of JPL's other work, but this map is everything I dislike. Butt ugly, secrets that look exactly like scenery, unfair ambushes with nowhere to retreat to, no sense of where to go next or what to do. I admit some aspects of this as a technical achievement, but in terms of actual gameplay I just don't find anything to like at all.

Mugwump Registered 5 September 2020, 8:02

Contrary to Mike Taylor, I simply adore this map! The brutality, the ambushes, the darkness, the claustrophobia make me feel like I'm in Aliens. I played it twice already and I'll gladly play it again. I should try version 2 next time. One small caveat: some of the "buttons" aren't immediately identifiable as such (hint: axe or shoot any computer console you may find). Other than that, this is top notch survival horror. It certainly isn't the run'n'gun type of map but it suits my playing style well. I think a remix in AD with those nasty acid vorelings and more environmental details (sparks, steam, ambient sounds...) would be fantastic.

BTW, "butt ugly"? WTF dude?! And the slime area isn't really that hard to figure out.

Mugwump Registered 5 September 2020, 8:11

One more thing: as usual with JPL's maps, there is no music. I recommend manually loading track10 (or putting it in a .ent file so as not to have to repeat the console command each time you reload a save).

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in