Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of suzyhrt
Author:Suzanne 'Trashbang' Will
Title:Head Reattachment Trauma
Download:suzyhrt.zip (834eae84313b0dd961edd3535142750e)
Filesize:9075 Kilobytes
Release date:04.07.2022
Homepage:http://binarypartitioned.space/
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
completeNightmare0h02m57sArcaneFiend6662022-07-11
Full completion of the map.
suzyhrtNightmare10m22sEsrael9992022-07-24
Blind run, 3 demos, 2 deaths, no secrets, commentary

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
suzyhrt.bsp20031 KB04.07.2022
suzyhrt.map9061 KB04.07.2022
suzyhrt.txt2 KB04.07.2022

suzyhrt.zip

Head Reattachment Trauma

Small short linear single player sci-fi base map with Makkon textures. The author's second release.

"My second Quake map after The Stars We Lost To Grief. This was an attempt to stay small-scoped and reasonable without confining myself to the strict boundaries of a 1024-unit map. It got a little out of hand, but not nearly as much as usual - that's progress, I guess."

Note: requires a modern engine / limit-removing source port. Map source file is included.


Tags: small, base, makkon, source, limits

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating:
4.5/5 with 54 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








RickyT23 Registered 5 July 2022, 1:23

This is a very nice looking map, makkon textures used to great effect. No .lit file either, but it doesn't really need one IMO. The gameplay is well thought out, it's not super-hectic. I enjoyed it, nice work!

Johnny Law Registered 5 July 2022, 6:06

Aw man... glad we got a followup to her first map; this one is even better IMO. Nice chunky and somewhat idiosyncractic texturing/construction, lighting is spot on, good fun to move around in and work through the progression of the path and the combat setups.

It's a "mean" map in some ways with its traps/surprises and several cases of unavoidable damage, but on the other hand it gives you a lot of health and armor so if you can just roll on through it you'll be fine. I'm waffling between a 4 and a 5 rating. I think a couple of the aggressive bits do detract from it a bit, just in that needing (or being sorely tempted) to reload interrupts an otherwise very good flow through the map.

Mazu Registered 5 July 2022, 9:06

Great encounter design and map looks amazing. Difficulty was just right on hard difficulty. Secrets were beyond my ability to find though.

Alex Ros Registered 5 July 2022, 11:40

Great map & great mapping. 5 stars. And I loved 1st map too, it's tight & brutal. This one is in vein with the 1st fun, but looking greater, more modern - love it; Makkon's fan myself. Kudos Suzanne!

ILIA Guest 5 July 2022, 13:43

Great gameplay. Excellent throughtful map. Recommend it.

ostx Registered 5 July 2022, 14:12

Nice map! I didn't find the 2nd secret so need to come back to it later. Regular Quakespasm works fine. Spiked has some issues with monsters.

The_Pirate Registered 5 July 2022, 16:48

This is good stuff.

I had high expectations after playing this author's first map, and i have not been disappointed. Very good. Very, very good.

I better cut myself off here, or i'll just sound like the Hogwarts Sorting Hat: "...Plenty of courage, i see. Not a bad mind either. There is talent, oh my goodness, yes...."

Well, ten points for Gryffindor. And thanks for sharing.

...I can't wait to see the next...

AllisonChains Registered 5 July 2022, 17:06

For me, this is a huge step up from the author's previous map. Whereas "The Stars We Lost to Grief" was a fine effort, it felt like it was held back from truly singing due to the cramped nature of its encounters. Not a problem for "Head Reattachment Trauma" and its roomy fights! Despite that, the map itself is surprisingly small, with each encounter being a set piece of sorts — usually engaged byway of an arguably mean-spirited trap. The visuals are absolutely on point, with plenty of neat industrial details and generous lighting. My only real complaint is that there didn't seem to be a way to go back after reaching the apex of the final elevator — which hinders secret hunting.

rchavp Registered 6 July 2022, 1:06

Nice, nice ... very nice! You're getting better I see :) Keep them coming!

Jehannum Registered 6 July 2022, 1:51

Super nice map. I enjoyed all the mechanical bits that went into this. Everything fit well together and the gameplay was spot on at skill 2.

Thanks for sharing and I can't wait to see the next level!

Markie Registered 6 July 2022, 12:55

Excellent map, 5 stars. Only crit would be that some of the detail actually goes a bit too far in spots, feeling a bit superfluous.

FifthElephant Registered 6 July 2022, 23:15

I really enjoyed this one. Great traps, gameplay was balanced and the map is a really beaut. :)

stroggo Registered 9 July 2022, 5:46

Fantastic little map!

The layout, design, and encounters are built that each room is its own little set piece. There's a great use of traps and moving walls/columns forces you to mix things up a little.

Oh and the detail, so.. much.. detail! <3

p.s. 2nd secret is a bit of a bastard (in a fun way)

Chaser Registered 10 July 2022, 18:17

Id play a whole episode with minor plot with this texturing and incredible map design style. U nailed it, Sir!

spootnik1 Registered 17 July 2022, 12:07

Super clean map! Excellent work, and nice use of Makkon textures. At the end I jumped off the platform and didn't take it up, and so I got soft-locked... Make sure you take the big platform!

Esrael Registered 24 July 2022, 10:46

Not much to add to the previous reviews. Creative fights that are tough but fair, I'd say. Special shoutout for how you used spawns, quite fiendish!

Brushwork, texturing and lighting are also excellent. I guess my only slight subjective nitpick would be, that things tended to start looking a bit samey, largely consisting of green metal walls. There are some accent colors here and there, but maybe a little bit more variation would've been nice.

Found the secrets only on a secret hunting run. I did turn up brightness to the max for that run. (Hmm, would that be considered cheating...) The secrets were quite tricky, but rewarding for the exploratory types. Good and well-balanced payoffs, too.

All in all, my subjective gut feeling rating would be something like 4.75. Excellent work!

safety_man Registered 30 July 2022, 7:56

Beautiful level design with tons of detail. Fun encounters and I loved the idea for the finale! Certainly kept me on my toes.

jammer210 Registered 3 August 2022, 16:46

Awsome level. So much detail, and great game play. Can't wait for the next one.

QW Guest 14 October 2022, 17:12

another great small map.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in