Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of ter_shibboleth_part_2_rev2
Author:KenChennar alias Orl
Title:Ter Shibboleth Part 2
Download:ter_shibboleth_part_2_rev2.zip (d872605719b05acaf4e5af421163b08f)
Filesize:136684 Kilobytes
Release date:15.01.2020
Homepage:http://qrf.servequake.com/orl/
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
TerShib_readme.txt3 KB14.01.2020
Tershib_source/amphiteater.wad9019 KB30.01.2020
Tershib_source/boreal.wad4904 KB10.01.2020
Tershib_source/paris.wad8822 KB31.12.2019
Tershib_source/shib6.map25658 KB06.02.2020
Tershib_source/shib7.map44536 KB04.02.2020
Tershib_source/shib8.map52912 KB08.02.2020
maps/shib6.bsp59744 KB06.02.2020
maps/shib6.lit42667 KB04.02.2020
maps/shib7.bsp87451 KB04.02.2020
maps/shib8.bsp126101 KB08.02.2020
pak0.pak24465 KB12.06.2011
pak1.pak11425 KB12.06.2011
pak2.pak4701 KB11.12.2012
pak3.pak6355 KB11.12.2012
progs.dat1760 KB11.12.2012
quake.rc1 KB04.09.2019
sound/shib6amb.wav1658 KB12.01.2020
sound/shib7amb.wav2250 KB19.03.2019
sound/shib8amb.wav1293 KB14.01.2020

ter_shibboleth_part_2_rev2.zip - Ter Shibboleth Part 2

The sequel to Ter Shibboleth, follwing the same boundary-pushing vein in three huge levels with impressive vistas: a snowy village in the mountains, the city of Paris (complete with Notre Dame and the Eiffel tower), and an ancient Roman city next to a colosseum. The levels run on the Drake mod which is included.

Note: These levels require a source port with increased limits and BSP2 support as well as server protocol 999. The memory heapsize must be set to at least 1 GB.
Due to the large open areas and no optimization (VIS), a considerable impact on performance should be expected.


Tags: drake, huge, bsp2, winter, village, mountains, paris, rome, france, coliseum, eiffel tower, city

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4/5 with 5 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
dwere Registered 6 March 2020, 19:48

Would it be feasible to vis these maps at all? Like, I don't care how big would the resulting files be, as long as they run better than unvised.

electricsheep82 Registered 6 March 2020, 20:33

If I load shib6 from the console, it loads fine, but if I load it from the command line, I can't see the ground.

KenChennar Guest 8 March 2020, 3:05

I do apologize dwere but it is not feasible. Many efforts were tried but it simply cannot be done. Firstly, vis refuses to even touch these maps, it always returns in an error. Now even if vis is able to work, the amount of time to process these maps would be staggering. We're talking like, years at least because the program was never meant to do huge maps like these. Further still even if the maps are full vissed, their huge open nature would make very little to no impact on frame rate. And not just that, but there would be visual bugs everywhere like invisible walls and very long stretched out planes.

EricW has done all he could to try and make some attempt to vis these maps but sadly no luck. Vis as it currently is, just isn't equipped to handle these maps.

dwere Registered 8 March 2020, 16:35

Oh well. I guess I'll have to wait a few years.

That picture looks like Oolacile. Very cool.

MikeTaylor Registered 10 March 2020, 11:54

On the first map (shib6) I've cleared out the lower and higher villages, and found two areas that are blocked by gates — one needing the gold key and the other needing the silver. I have neither. (I had a silver key earlier, but used it to open the gate that got me from the mountain area at the start into the village area.)

Can anyone give me hints where the keys are?

Also: I stopped trying to get into the houses when the first half dozen were all unopenable. Am I right to ignore all the house doors now, or are some of them real?

MikeTaylor Registered 10 March 2020, 12:47

OK, I found both keys. It wasn't hard, they weren't really hidden. I suppose I was just being particularly stupid before. (The silver key is out in the open in the middle of the village nearest the silver-key gate; the gold key is on the other side of the chasm to the right of the gold-key gate, and you can just walk around.)

MikeTaylor Registered 11 March 2020, 18:35

I found the secret sanguinoch on the second level. What is the point of picking this up? All it seems to do is drain my health.

KenChennar Guest 11 March 2020, 19:06

Bring it to living enemies or gibs, it will attack and absorb their health and give it to you where it can go beyond 100 without slowly being drained. Think of it as a lesser version of a megahealth, but you have to work to make it really effective.

MikeTaylor Registered 12 March 2020, 12:51

Ah, that makes sense — it'll work well for players who like to get right into the middle of a melee, but it's done nothing for me who prefer to snipe when I can.

Confused Guest 13 March 2020, 4:14

I'm getting a Bad surface extents crash to desktop when I try to load shib6 & shib8. The other maps are fine though.

Confused Guest 13 March 2020, 4:23

Ignore my previous post, I just needed to update Quakespasm. Derp.

MikeTaylor Registered 24 March 2020, 16:36

OK, I give up — where should I be looking for the Silver Sword in the Colosseum map?

MikeTaylor Registered 24 March 2020, 16:54

Ah, I found it!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in