Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of tfl4
Author:Anders "Backspace" Persson
Title:The Final Level
Download:tfl4.zip (8da8d54b927830ed0560dab5a8f98c05)
Filesize:978 Kilobytes
Release date:25.11.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Quake Map HotelTEAMShambler
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
tfl4.txt3 KB25.11.1997
pak0.pak2445 KB25.11.1997

tfl4.zip - The Final Level

Large Base map. Custom progs include rotating fans. OK.

Tags: base, large, idbase

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 3.8/5 with 13 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 18 July 2016, 17:49

I was replaying the TFL series of levels, and was surprised to realise I'd not reached this one previously. I really enjoyed it. It sort of mundane, to be honest, and very linear, but it's just fun at every stage. Nice combats where you can pick off base enemies.

ubiquitous Registered, rated this a 3 2 October 2016, 17:49

Overall, I liked this map. it's especially god for its time, and feels, in many places, like a Vanilla id map. A couple of things put me off: Firstly, there are a couple of jumps needed to progress that I found quite difficult to pull-off. Secondly, the quality of the design tapers off a bit towards the end, as if the author were just trying to get the level finished.

But definitely worth a play.

Cocerello Registered, rated this a 4 16 September 2017, 20:25

Quite solid map. Has good positioning of enemies and varied rooms and combats, better lighting than the previous, some nice use of crates and varied gimmicks.

About the issues Ubiqutous tells about: i never found a place requiring trickjumping, not even for secrets, but it needs to think where to go next after each jump so my supposition is that he found a harder route. On the other side i noticed that the quality of the brushwork lowers a bit after the gold key.

What i found an issue was that the NG is in a dim and bland lit room, so i didn't see it on the first pass and had to go back and search for it twice when i saw myself having to use the axe, because towards the end the map is a bit tight on ammo if i try to kill everything on sight.

Overall, a 4+/5- for the time.

JMP Registered, rated this a 4 26 January 2018, 6:09

Many years ago, this was the first custom map I played. I thought it was near perfect at the time. Replaying it now, I notice more flaws: some misaligned textures, and as ubiquitous mentions above, the design goes to seed after the gold key door.

Nonetheless I enjoyed it and still think it's a pretty fun map. The architecture and textures vary--it's mostly white, but there's some orange hipside-style walls; there are both warehouses and waterlogged rooms--but it integrates them well and feels cohesive. The combat is challenging but not unfair. Secrets are on the hard side.

JMP Registered, rated this a 4 26 January 2018, 6:22

Er, it was actually Cocerello who mentioned the gold key door, not ubiquitous. My bad. But needless to say I agree with both of them about the quality dropping off in that final part of the map.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in