Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of thefly
Author:Markus Klar
Title:The Fly
Download:thefly.zip (a59dda0fc71eb8bd80987c35a3b32a5f)
Filesize:815 Kilobytes
Release date:31.08.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Geniac's PlaylistSPQ Level HeavenTEAMShambler
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
thefly.bsp1934 KB31.08.1997
thefly.txt4 KB31.08.1997

thefly.zip

The Fly

Medium sized Base map with an original and unique twist: the illusion of walking on multiple plains - nine years before Prey. Very nice.

Tags: dark

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 2.8/5 with 12 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Spirit 14 August 2008, 11:25
Hm, doesn't really deserve being so famous in my opinion. Maybe for its age.
mmm Registered, rated this a 2 2 July 2013, 19:17

Apart from the twist the map is pretty okayish.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 1 December 2013, 0:37

I agree more or less with the sentiments expressed in the other two comments. The illusion itself deserves praise for being original and well executed, but the rest is fairly bland and not really enjoyable. An over-abundance of pitch black areas makes gameplay hard for the wrong reasons.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 2 1 December 2013, 2:55

What a disappointment. I assumed you'd get to walk on both planes of the walkways at right-angles. Nope -- it's just scenery. I gave this 2/5. but 1/5 would not have been unfair. Full-dark is never a good way to make problems.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 1 December 2013, 16:00

MikeTaylor, not sure if I'm interpreting your comment correctly, but actually tilting the entire map or shifting the gravity sideways would (as far as I know) not be technically possible for a 1997 Quake map. I don't think you can do that even today – or ever, given the inherent limitations of Quake (those in the know, correct me if I'm wrong).

But -- SPOILER ahoy! -- the map DOES effectively let you experience walking on both planes at right angles. Once you pass through the teleporter you are taken to an exact reconstruction of the scene, with everything tilted 90 degrees. So whereas it is perhaps "just scenery" at fixed points in time, consecutively it does create a convincing illusion.

I'm not calling your rating into question, but your comment made me wonder if you had perhaps missed this while moving through the map, in which case you might find it worth another look. The illusion alone really is done very well.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 2 2 December 2013, 13:18

That's weird, the illusion as you describe it is exactly how I assume it would be done, yet I somehow didn't see it. I guess I'll have to play through again. How could I miss it?

[... ten minutes later ...]

Oh yes, of course. Wow, how did I miss it? I didn't notice it the FIRST time round, having come up the long elevator.

OK, well I guess I'll stick with my 2/5 rating; but at least now it's a solid two instead of a should-have-been-one-but-I-took-pity two.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in