Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of thehand
Author:RickyT23
Title:The Hand That Feeds You
Download:thehand.zip (86872f01a6a910036440f7bebfc4b927)
Filesize:5524 Kilobytes
Release date:16.12.2007
Homepage:
Additional Links: erc's ExcellenceUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔
Dependencies:quoth

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
thehand.txt6 KB16.12.2007
maps/thehand.bsp7162 KB16.12.2007
maps/thehand.lit2829 KB16.12.2007
gfx/env/tramontolf.tga686 KB13.02.2003
gfx/env/tramontoup.tga635 KB13.02.2003
gfx/env/tramontoft.tga695 KB12.02.2003
gfx/env/tramontodn.tga765 KB13.02.2003
gfx/env/tramontobk.tga626 KB13.02.2003
gfx/env/tramontort.tga705 KB13.02.2003

thehand.zip

The Hand That Feeds You

Large, interconnected base in the mountains with a lava cave beneath. It comes with a custom skybox.

Note: This map requires Quoth and a source port with increased limits.


Tags: quoth, base, huge, idbase

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.8/5 with 46 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Ron, rated this a 5 26 August 2009, 13:08
Fantastic level !
MegaQuaker, rated this a 5 23 April 2010, 4:16
This is the first of 3 imo REALLY good levels by Ricky. The others are slave and starkmon. I wish he'd made more maps!
Aen, rated this a 5 9 October 2010, 12:22
Fantastic & Cool. Bu I don't like to see Vore & Grunt on same floor.
5/5
damage_inc Guest 21 February 2013, 2:41
Man, what an awesome level :D

Use of colored lighting was spot on perfect. Architecture, GREAT. Felt more like an episode unto itself. I literally forgot I was only playing ONE level.

I was enjoying the gameplay as well but for some reason two thirds of the way through saving kept causing a segmentation fault thus crashing the game :( Had to finish in Godmode, grrr. Simply put, this level is a quake masterpiece.

7/5 most definitely ;)
MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 4 June 2014, 13:39

I love this one, and it has great replayability. I must have been through it half a dozen times at least. Beautiful atmosphere (of which the coloured lighting is only a part), a more-or-less credible base layout, and hard-but-fair monster placement make it a winner in every category.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 20 January 2016, 14:12

Oh, this stands up so well to repeatedly plays. I highly recommend it to anyone who's not already had the The Hand that Feed You experience.

dgl33d Registered, rated this a 5 21 January 2016, 15:43

Incredibly large, challenging map that is a Quake masterpiece.

Bloughsburgh Registered, rated this a 4 9 September 2016, 13:22

This man knows how to use color lighting efficiently, very stunning atmosphere depicted here. Although skill 2 is expected to be difficult I think teleporting vores behind the player in an open no-cover hallway is cheap. It certainly taught me how to panic though! Still the flow and brooding vibes kept me going. Ricky's maps are probably the most interesting base maps I have played.

Pasokon Deacon Registered, rated this a 5 10 February 2017, 19:32

The few enemy warps right behind the player suck, but sometimes make for interesting combat. I wouldn't call the map huge so much as it is long: plenty of creative area reuse, vores everywhere to keep you running, great use of Quoth baddies (even the gaunts!) and surprises like the cave section. It's hard and a bit rough, but I love the map's variety, lighting, difficulty, and good pace. And it helps that the secrets make a lot of sense, except for the Pentagram spot.

Plasma gun shines in this one, as you get it early and can snipe polyps from afar. I like having this option rather than relying on quad nails or lightning to make room in a fight.

vaf Registered, rated this a 5 8 June 2018, 15:17

This might be the best base map I've ever played. Excellent use of Quoth.

Greenwood Registered, rated this a 5 29 January 2020, 8:45

Phenomenal map. Great use of Quoth. Arguably the best out of his Quoth-Base trilogy (along with Slave to a Machine & Stark Monstrosity), but that's probably because I love the environment variety. They're all really good!

triple_agent Guest 16 May 2021, 4:25

This map had some good flow; it felt kind of professional, to an extent, even if the details were not necessarily all there, in various aspects of design - but it felt good to play it. It was enjoyable. The theme, was part bio-punk, part 'Half-Life' style science-fiction, revolving around mutant hazard and biological threat extermination. I liked the ambience, particularly in the underground section, with proper lighting work around the severe biohazard area. The dogs with freak stats, was a neat concept - after all those warped monstrosities, which came out just to be a starter. But the screenshake effect, in particular at the final, tiny elevator - that was simply awful. Anyway, good one!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in