Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of torture
Author:Gyro Gearloose
Title:Torture
Download:torture.zip (568f8bc1c472b54f72d3af5039479c00)
Filesize:456 Kilobytes
Release date:19.10.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'serc's QualityGeniac's PlaylistSPQ Level Heaven
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
TORTURE.TXT8 KB19.10.1996
TORTURE.BSP1045 KB19.10.1996

torture.zip - Torture

Small Wizard/Metal map with torture chambers and some neat masks.

Tags: castle, medieval, oldschool, small, mixtex

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 3.4/5 with 25 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 3 16 December 2013, 17:41

It has some nice details in brushwork here and there.

dBAudio Registered, rated this a 3 20 February 2014, 11:37

yes it does.

QForever Registered, rated this a 3 20 February 2014, 18:17

agree

xDDGx Registered, rated this a 5 13 June 2014, 15:33

Brushwork is excellent for that time. Really nice map with interesting ideas.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 4 19 June 2014, 18:40

For a map from 1996 this is pretty impressive and original. The masks are splendid and the torture chambers are nice. Progression is somewhat non-linear and you move around the map in lots of interesting ways, through trapdoors and lifts, secret passageways and partly hidden gaps.

There do seem to be perhaps too many different wall and ceiling textures competing for attention and perhaps lighting and overall polish could have been better in places, but gameplay is engaging enough that it is easy not to notice. In fact, there is quite a lot going on and this ends up feeling quite complex for such a small and short map.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 4 3 October 2014, 14:36

Torture on The Quake Grave

This is easily one of my favorite maps from 1996! The custom brushwork is great (The skull and masks), I love the scripted moments with enemies and the torture area of the map is very creative. The whole thing was made with a lot of love and care for detail and quality. My only gripe would be how it seemed very unintuitive to find the last chamber to finish the level (which you can see in the playthrough). I can't really give it too many marks down for it because it's almost more of a puzzle but it did bring the flow of the map to a crawl when it was otherwise grat. This is definitely a replayable map for me!

TheInsaneMilkman Registered, rated this a 4 7 January 2015, 3:26

I really enjoyed this one, it's amazing for 1996. The masks and torture devices are really cool and the overall visuals are great. The combat is also very good and I love non-linearity in maps. One of the earliest Quake maps that's worth playing in my opinion. Give it a playthrough. 4/5

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 7 January 2015, 18:06

Very nice for the date, though it does feel a bit arbitrary and the ending is very sudden, just as you feel you're getting somewhere. Still, worth a play even in 2015. Three stars.

NewHouse Registered, rated this a 2 22 May 2016, 19:54

I really would like to give it 3/5, but I couldn't find the gold key - even if I used noclip I still couldn't find it. Gameplay was interesting and wasn't boring at all. Some of the design choices were wierd like those christmas island's stone heads at the end, but it's the matter of someone's taste I assume*

JMP Registered, rated this a 4 9 August 2016, 5:38

^^ The gold key is actually visible in the screencap. It's right below the stained-glass window.

Anyway, this is a really fun and imaginative level. Passage from room to room takes a variety of novel forms--lifts, sinkholes, trap doors, etc.--which gives the map a distinctive sense of progression. The textures are great too.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 4 5 July 2017, 22:02

I concur with all the praises here!

I was surprised how the author was able to utilize dogs, which are usually just cannon fodder, in a really deadly way that almost got me killed! I think my favourite part of the map was the level of detail that was put into the torture devices.

The only small gripe I have with the map is that if you choose poorly (like I did) which path to take first during the branching part, you could very well end up without ammo against overwhelming odds. Luckily I was able to survive, but the last blows had to be dealt with the axe with little health remaining.

Overall, a great solid map; recommended! 4/5

pmk Guest 17 October 2018, 4:57

really good 1996 quake map with great architecture, engaging combat and interesting locations and events throughout the map such as the trap cage that lifts the player up to the room above with scrags that escape from the faces along the walls of the room. That was really well done scenario from a map that was created during the early stages of quake modding . I would give this map a three out of five rating and would recommend others to play this map as it is really well created.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in