Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of winterpack2005-2006
Author:Hrimfaxi (Drew), Zwiffle (czg)
Title:winterpack2005-2006
Download:winterpack2005-2006.zip (aedefba0ec2703c18164f61d4909d119)
Filesize:3371 Kilobytes
Release date:08.03.2006
Homepage:
Additional Links: erc's QualityUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘
Dependencies:quoth

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
egypt.txt6 KB04.02.2006
teacups.txt4 KB08.03.2006
egypt.bsp7357 KB04.02.2006
teacups.bsp1021 KB08.03.2006

winterpack2005-2006.zip - winterpack2005-2006

Two maps build from the scraps of other mappers: Hrimfaxi used Drew's scraps for a large egyptian/mayan map called "Egyptian rhapsody!" Zwiffle used czg's for a ikblue map called "Teacups - are my intentions".

Tags: ikblue, egyptian, built from scraps, huge, hard, quoth, skybox

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.3/5 with 20 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Samus_Aran 1 November 2009, 4:48
Egypt is the largest Quake 1 map I have ever played!!!

On Nightmare, there are 250 monsters, wow! 8 secrets and some of the most beautiful architecture I have ever seen in a Quake level. I hope the author is making commercial games these days.

Played the level on coop mode, there were no bugs or issues.

We were not able to find the teleporter up to the Pentagram -- anyone know where it is? My friend helped boost me up to the area below it, and then I grenade jumped up to the Pentagram secret, but it would be nice to know what the "real way" to get it is. It would have been very useful in that giant open area full of monsters, for sure!

One of the best levels of all-time! 5/5.
Spirit, rated this a 4 1 November 2009, 19:30
Check out the release thread at func:
http://www.celephais.net/board/view_thread.php?id=43794

If you want bigger maps, check out Warp Spasm. It should be amazing fun in Coop.
MegaQuaker, rated this a 5 23 April 2010, 4:10
Hrimfaxi's map is huge, the other is small. Both are good. Also it's challenging, I was caught by surprise in desperate straights a few times. Anyways this is EXCELLENT!
Aen, rated this a 5 9 October 2010, 15:17
Excellent, Just Excellent!
dBAudio Registered, rated this a 4 15 October 2013, 23:14

both were great. i prefer the size of Drew/Hrimfaxi, and love the ikblue used in czg/Zwiffle.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 1 December 2013, 1:45

Good but got great.

Egyptian Rhapsody is huge, yes, but a lot of the size is of the Big Open Space kind. That's not to say there isn't plenty of fine architecture, too, but it's not quite consistent enough to rank with the best maps.

Teacups is technically good, but sort of irritating to play: lots of ambushes from the kinds of enemies that it's pretty impossible to escape without taking plenty of damage. And after a very difficult just-before-the-end battle, the actual ending is very anticlimactic.

All in all, 4/5

longie long Guest 7 June 2014, 18:03

I was very impressed by the architecture in Teacups. The blue castle theme was well realized. However, the lighting in the level and monster placement really threw off the flow of the map. It is probably a great DM map.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 3 31 May 2016, 23:56

Egyptian Rhapsody: Nice-looking aside from the Egyptian texture theme, which I'm not a big fan of color-wise, though this is personal preference. I'm also not a fan of the big open spaces; I feel this works better in Doom, where you can cover ground more quickly than in Quake. Because of this I found the endgame sequence better-realized in gameplay terms than much of the rest of the map.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 3 1 June 2016, 8:56

Teacups is nice. The lighting is very dark (which I like) and ikblue textures are always a treat. It's a real shame about the lack of difficulty settings, though. I found it pretty easy for the most part (other than a couple ambushes like Mike mentioned) which really holds it back from my point of view, unfortunately.

3.5/4 overall -- I wish I could give it 4 for Teacups but if only I could play on Hard!!

Doc_Holliday Registered 8 July 2016, 12:42

Egypt is superb...I love the open spaces and getting the monsties to fight each other...

whirlstr Registered, rated this a 4 19 September 2018, 10:10

5 for Egypt, 3 for Teacups. The former is grand in scale in gameplay. Beautiful architecture using MP2 textures quite nicely. The level design is great, with plenty of open space, and the Quoth monsters are used sparingly & reasonably. Teacups is solid but quite small and unfinished-feeling in comparison. The only frustrating difficulty I faced was that somehow I couldn't find the exit after killing every monster and seemingly exploring every corner.

Solomoriah Registered, rated this a 5 8 February 2019, 0:32

I'm giving this one a 5 for Egypt; it's beautiful, well designed and well balanced. I'm not nearly as impressed with Teacups, but it wasn't "bad" and I don't want to ding this collection. Egypt was just that good.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in