Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of zer
Author:Nihilism Unlimited
Title:Zerstörer - Testament of the Destroyer
Download:zer.zip (ec3f04be4994751d71b3574519be992d)
Filesize:11198 Kilobytes
Release date:27.09.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: erc's ExcellenceGeniac's PlaylistQuake TerminusRetroquakeSPQ Level HeavenTEAMShamblerTen FourUnderworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
PROGS.DAT575 KB27.09.1997
QWPROGS.DAT263 KB27.09.1997
DEVKIT.TXT42 KB27.09.1997
DEVKIT.ZIP242 KB27.09.1997
PAK0.PAK24550 KB27.09.1997
LEVELS.CFG1 KB26.09.1997
SERVER.CFG1 KB26.09.1997
ZER.TXT11 KB27.09.1997

zer.zip - Zerstörer - Testament of the Destroyer

"Be very scared... Zerstörer is here to destroy you, and is arguably the meanest Q1 SP episode around. A 7-map partial conversion with excellent new graphics and superb effects, cool weapons and interesting monsters. The maps are varied and continually interesting, but Zerstörer is really outstanding for the amazing atmosphere: bleak, inhospitable, and often truly scary. Very creative, very engrossing - again, unmissable."
-TEAMShambler

Additional files: patch 1.1, zerend hotfix, teaser demo.


Tags: classic, mustplay, episode, monsters, evil, frightening, zerstorer, scary, blood, dark, cutscenes

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.4/5 with 23 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
NOTE 14 September 2009, 21:28
Here is the v1.1 patch: http://www.quaddicted.com/reviews/zer11.html
Quaker 20 February 2010, 6:42
Pure classic, far ahead of its time to boot. Absolute 10/10, one of the most famous project ever.
Albertoto 15 April 2010, 6:01
kickass! ! ! thank you
ijed 22 April 2010, 4:23
It doesn't get much better than this.
negke, rated this a 5 22 November 2010, 14:55
NOTE: The end cutscene doesn't play all the way through on some modern source ports. Here is a quick hotfix (simply extract the file into your Zer folder).
http://www.quaketastic.com/upload/files/single_player/maps/zerend_fix.zip
adamrulesurface Guest 6 December 2012, 0:00
cool. im just installing to learn how to mod.
adamrulesurface Guest 6 December 2012, 0:00
and to see if i know when quake was released.
Phill Guest 15 September 2013, 20:59

Can anyone tell me where the gold key is in Map "Among the Dead" Thanks in advance

dBAudio Registered, rated this a 4 9 December 2013, 22:53

after you go through the silver key door, it is in a grave that needs hacked open.

boink182 Guest 20 December 2013, 2:38

yes, yes, yessssssss! so evil. so delicious. this is an indispensable part of the full quake experience.

jackieben Registered, rated this a 5 11 January 2014, 15:55

If Quake wasn't brutal enough

NightFright Registered, rated this a 5 4 February 2014, 13:37

It's a classic. Challenging, but not really difficult gameplay, good level design, creepy atmosphere. Also remarkable due to its surprising (somewhat anticlimactic) ending. Belongs into anybody's collection!

spy Guest 25 April 2014, 17:41

3/5

1- good level, quite short nothing exceptional 2- cutscene 3- simple architect, very 2d gameplay 4- wtf? alotsa textures been used and simple design 5 - classic 6 - classic 7 - classic 8 - wtf cutscene

should've been a 2 episode adventure

spy Guest 25 April 2014, 17:47

so basically the most beautiful levels came from kandyman with a manzer addition

Quakeman Guest 1 May 2014, 15:57

Did I do something wrong when I played the game? Are there multiple endings? If not that was the shittiest ending I have ever witnessed. No one kills Quakeman, he's too tough.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 4 18 June 2014, 14:55

This exchange inspired me to replay Zerstörer. Plenty here that is innovative and memorable; some things that are not so great.

Firstly, the biggest drawback to this episode, both when I first played it a few years back and now: the cutscenes. I appreciate that they pushed the boundaries of what could be done with the Quake engine at the time, but as when I played this before, I found them to be distracting and cheesy. In my opinion, the story of a Quake map/episode should play out within the maps themselves, or not at all. Without the cutscenes, though, this episode largely loses its overarching sense of narrative (even though some of the individual maps manage to tell their own stories), which highlights another major weakness -- namely that it is ultimately a set of mostly nice but disjointed maps, with very little real connection between them.

zer1m6 is the definite highlight for me. I have since played far better-looking maps, but it still stands out in due its fantastic sense of tension, narrative and location.

zer1m1, zer1m3, zer1m5 and the start map are all pretty good, with zer1m3 being a little finicky and confusing to complete, yet wonderfully atmospheric in a B-horror movie kind of way.

zer1m7 is very immersive, but I also found it confusing and hence frustrating to complete, perhaps due to the samey visuals everywhere. Plus, I still have no idea how to use that strange weapon you get at the very end. I tried firing it a few times, but just ended up injuring and/or killing myself in the process, finally gave up and went back to rest of my arsenal to complete the map. A weapon like that (as opposed to e.g. the souped-up shotgun and nail-chaingun, which anyone who has used the regular Quake weapons will instinctively know how to use) should be introduced a lot earlier, so as to give the player a chance to learn how to use it.

I agree with spy that zer1m4 is the weakest map of the bunch. Whereas the other maps all brought back memories from when I played Zerstörer previously, I had no memory of having played this one at all.

In case this all sounds overly negative, let me stress that there are more things I like than dislike about this episode/pack. The maps are mostly fun, as are the new additions (monsters, weapons, etc.), and there is no denying that it is impressive for its time. I do, however, think that it's far from perfect.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 4 18 June 2014, 15:50

"zer1m6 ... stands out due to its fantastic sense of tension, narrative and location"

D'oh.

MikeTaylor Registered 19 June 2014, 0:31

BTW., according to the Quaddicted maps database, Kandyman never made any other maps than his superb Zerstorer contribution, True Love Waits. Can this be true? Or was Kandyman a one-off alias for an established mapper?

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 4 19 June 2014, 1:22

One can find out quite a lot from just reading the included documentation. :-)

Kandyman is Marin Gazzari and is credited with the start map/"Another Perfect Day", zer1m5/"Blutsturz" (along with Cole Savage a.k.a. Manzer), zer1m6/"True Love Waits", zer1m7/"Bunker" and zerdm4/"Brutalizer", according to the Zerstörer readme -- so that's the majority of the playable SP maps in this pack and a fair bit more than just zer1m6.

A quick internet search suggests that Marin Gazzari/Kandyman has made a few Doom and Quake2 maps in addition to his Zerstörer maps.

MikeTaylor Registered 19 June 2014, 11:47

But no other Q1SP maps outside of Zerstorer, unfortunately.

Still, I guess that's more incentive to have another go at the whole package.

(I don't play Deathmatch.)

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 4 19 June 2014, 15:15

You could certainly do worse. :-) A word of warning, though, MikeTaylor: if I recall correctly, you once wrote that you use DarkPlaces on Linux, which means that you may encounter a bug in zer1m3, where one of the keys (the silver key, as I recall) drops right through the platform where you're supposed to find it. Perhaps the latest version of DP fixes this or perhaps there is a way to fix it manually -- or you could just cheat at that point. Or use a different engine to play this, like Quakespasm (also runs on Linux).

Just thought I'd let you know so that you don't lose time looking for a key that is not where it's supposed to be.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 4 19 June 2014, 15:37

Actually, what I wrote about zer1m4 above is not entirely true: certain sequences did bring back memories, such as the three doors that you open and close with the single multi-sided switch. It's not as good as the other maps, but especially for 1997, it's not too bad either.

NoNameUser Guest 28 June 2014, 14:55

Thanks a lot for the tip on that gold key, I was running in circles for a while there. Anyway, I think the TEAMShambler description above is overstated. It's not really scary, only very dark (you might want to set gamma to 0 because some areas are almost pitch-black). It's only difficult because it forces Nightmare mode on every map, but it's not terribly hard either. Nevertheless, this wasn't bad at all. I honestly wasn't expecting much given its age but it turned out surprisingly good, especially the new weapons (loved the Chain-Lightning gun). The ending was kind of a bummer (for the protagonist anyway), but at least there was an ending. Nearly all the maps that exist don't even have a text screen at the end, what can be worse than that?

By the way, I thought that guy in the HUD looked like Quentin Tarantino.

jesus Guest 21 September 2014, 19:30

In these instructions...

Unzip into a directory beneath the Quake directory. (Ex: c:\quake\zer)

Start by typing: quake -winmem 12 -game zer

** The '-winmem 12' is needed to force some versions of Quake to ** allocate enough memory for the massive levels in Zerstˆrer. ** You can substitute bigger numbers for the '12' if you have ** lots of RAM.

WHAT DOES START BY TYPING MEAN????? TYPE IT WHERE>>?????

jesus Guest 21 September 2014, 19:30

In these instructions...

Unzip into a directory beneath the Quake directory. (Ex: c:\quake\zer)

Start by typing: quake -winmem 12 -game zer

** The '-winmem 12' is needed to force some versions of Quake to ** allocate enough memory for the massive levels in Zerstˆrer. ** You can substitute bigger numbers for the '12' if you have ** lots of RAM.

WHAT DOES START BY TYPING MEAN????? TYPE IT WHERE>>?????

jesus Guest 21 September 2014, 19:30

In these instructions...

Unzip into a directory beneath the Quake directory. (Ex: c:\quake\zer)

Start by typing: quake -winmem 12 -game zer

** The '-winmem 12' is needed to force some versions of Quake to ** allocate enough memory for the massive levels in Zerstˆrer. ** You can substitute bigger numbers for the '12' if you have ** lots of RAM.

WHAT DOES START BY TYPING MEAN????? TYPE IT WHERE>>?????

Spirit Registered 21 September 2014, 19:49

That was written for ancient computers. Are you sure you do not want to use the Quake Injector?

See https://www.quaddicted.com/help/command_line

What you need to put in there depends on your engine. Nowadays just "-game zer" should be enough.

Spirit Registered 21 September 2014, 19:50
Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 22 November 2015, 20:09

I ended up playing this rather by accident actually: I downloaded the Zerstörer mapjam and started at the start map, only to realize it was the start of Zerstörer itself. A happy accident indeed, as this has become one of my all-time favorite releases.

First of all, I love the very dark, death-metal aesthetic of a lot of these maps, the whole Zerstörer theme, which is used to great effect in the mapjam (and seems to have been influenced by Doom, and possibly influenced the visual styles Tronyn and necros in turn, two of the best mappers in Quake). Furthermore, the proper levels all have a truly immersive sense of progression, giving them a "sense of place" that imo many of the hyper-detailed map of recent years don't match. This is more than enough to make up for the fact that, as Icantthinkofanickname pointed out, the progression between maps is a bit disjointed.

The gameplay also stands out to me as some of the best in Quake. It is tough, but not overly so, with some fiendish monster spawns and cool custom monsters, my favorite being the floating chanting demon with an attack I thought was similar to the Archvile's from Doom II. The guns were nice as well. The chaingun was a neat addition, but the new shotgun instantly became a favorite ended up being my mainstay throughout the episode—if I start mapping myself I will have to make it a Zerstörer map just to include it. The other weapons I can't comment on: I never used the alternate rocket launcher, and I'm not sure what "chain-lightning gun" refers to so I either missed it or forgot about it. (I didn't find the secret weapon near the end either.)

The cutscenes were neat for what they are: cutscenes in a game that was not intended to have cutscenes. Like Icantthinkofanickname, I didn't think they or the "story" were necessary, but it also doesn't seem fair to hold them against the mod when they're really a minor issue, compared to how great the mod is otherwise.

Certainly an episode I'll return to. By the way, since I obtained this mod with the Zerstörer mapjam, I had no idea at the time when Zerstörer was originally released. I assumed it was sometime in the early 2000s. 1997 though! Wow.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 26 April 2016, 7:46

Reading my old comment, I seem to have implied Tronyn and necros influenced this episode, heh. Faulty parallelism.

Just wanted to say that the zer shotgun has become one of my all-time favorite video game shotguns, right up there with Doom II's SSG and Unreal's flak cannon. The burst shots make it feel like a shotgun version of the battle rifle or DMR from the Halo games. So satisfying and powerful, it's hard to return to the regular double shotty after playing a round of zer. Every mapper should use it.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in