Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of zigisp1
Author:zigi
Title:A Verdant Dawn
Download:zigisp1.zip (082bca1d445e77837a298d707b7d40d1)
Filesize:16879 Kilobytes
Release date:01.09.2020
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
zigisp1/gfx/env/greenepbk.tga1859 KB11.08.2020
zigisp1/gfx/env/greenepdn.tga1620 KB11.08.2020
zigisp1/gfx/env/greenepft.tga2251 KB11.08.2020
zigisp1/gfx/env/greeneplf.tga2032 KB11.08.2020
zigisp1/gfx/env/greeneprt.tga1940 KB11.08.2020
zigisp1/gfx/env/greenepup.tga1637 KB11.08.2020
zigisp1/maps/zigisp1.bsp19163 KB31.08.2020
zigisp1/maps/zigisp1.lit3710 KB31.08.2020
zigisp1/maps/zigisp1.map12268 KB31.08.2020
zigisp1/music/track148.ogg3974 KB23.08.2020
zigisp1/zigisp1.txt3 KB01.09.2020

zigisp1.zip

A Verdant Dawn

Large murky medieval fortress inspired by Foggy Bogbottom and The Forgotten Sepulcher from Arcane Dimensions. Comes with a custom skybox and a music track. The map source is included.

Note: This map requires a source port with increased limits + BSP2 support.


Tags: large, medieval, bricks, water, swamp, fortress, skybox, music, source, limits, bsp2, secrets, coop

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.8/5 with 47 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Ninja Registered, rated this a 5 13 September 2020, 23:31

This is awesome, started off like, ok take things easy, but then "BAM" Graphics great, game play brillient, you better be a acrobat to avoid the bullets, its awesome, i only ever judge maps on game play, not how good they look, this for game play is 100% spot on "Well done zigi" def 5 star

grog Registered, rated this a 5 15 September 2020, 3:23

Superb, 5/5, great everything, looking forward to more like this.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 18 September 2020, 15:59

I loved this. It's no criticism to say that it doesn't quite reach the levels of creativity and replayability of its inspirations, but there is still a ton to discover, lots of lovely eye-candy, and some very enjoyable combats — especially the final set-piece, which avoids the common trops of just throwing everything at the player at once in an arena. Amazing that this is Zigi's first solo release!

Chaser Registered, rated this a 5 20 September 2020, 12:19

Fantastic map! Loved the yellow lights, loved the size and that BIG number of secrets. Had lots of fun exploring :)!

The Silent Registered, rated this a 5 20 September 2020, 13:01

Lovely atmosphere, gameplay and secrets a tad on the easy side. Good job overall.

TheSolipsist Registered, rated this a 5 27 September 2020, 12:23

I couldn't max it out, missed a few enemies and secrets. Backtracking is efficient, combat is engaging, exploration is a treat in every corner. The whole setting gives off the vibe of a "place", it teases my nostalgia but doesn't pander to it. Everything is both familiar and new, and there are tons over heaps of details hidden in every corner, every facet of the environment tells its own little story, contributing to an overarching feeling of exploring a real space and not just a "map". Verdant Dawn is an absolute must-play in my opinion.

JuanchoES Registered, rated this a 5 4 October 2020, 21:21

I just completed the map first try without saving... What a blast, really really fun map :)

Aluminumhaste Registered, rated this a 5 8 October 2020, 17:01

I don't know if I got this right, but it worked. I just copied the contents to my Arcane Dimensions folder, loaded up AD and did map zig etc and it worked.

Incredible map, loved it. Beat it on skill 2, but the last bit with 2 shamblers, then 4!!!! I had 35 hp left to take on 4 of em!!!

5/5 loved it.

fairweather Registered, rated this a 4 26 October 2020, 1:19

Impressively large level for a first standalone outing. Stands out with grand visuals, neat gameplay and fun exploration, but is often let down by the ammo/health/armor balance being pushed too far in the player's favor. As soon as I would be run down to half yellow armor, another free non-secret yellow armor would greet me. Other than that, there's a few really sweet re-imaginings of E1M3 locations that are fun to notice, and the final area is quite fun. Looking forward to more Zigi sp!

Marian Registered, rated this a 5 25 November 2020, 0:36

Very good! This has exactly the layout I love. The picture says it all, you stand there in the middle, and you see a lot of architecture. Each part of the picture you visit in a different time, and in the end, when everything is done - it gives you a rewarding "completionist" feeling. I hope I'll play something in a similar fashion soon!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 15 February 2021, 20:51

Relayed this. Love it. Superb work. More, please, Zigi!

Jehannum Registered, rated this a 5 24 May 2021, 1:08

Great fun! This map will keep you busy, if not firing off rounds in all directions, then looking, looking, looking for those secrets! There's so much to explore.

Thanks Zigi for a great level!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in