Quake's Episodes and Maps

  • Quake has 4 episodes. Each map's filename is made of e(episodenumber)m(mapnumber). So the third map in the second episode would be e2m3.bsp. You can load that map directly by entering "map e2m3" in the console.
  • Each episode has a secret level. Those are marked *secretlevel * below. They are listed right after the map in which a hidden teleporter exists. See the secrets pages if you need help locating them.
  • There is a bug with Fishes in Quake. If a map has fishes they count twice for the total number of monsters (as you see on the intermission screen). If you kill a fish it will only count as one killed monster though, so getting 100% monster kills by numbers is impossible. The monster counts below are fixed, the maps in which Fishes appear show the monster count that Quake displays in parentheses().

start: Introduction

Episode 1: Dimension of the Doomed

The mystical past comes alive...

e1m1: the Slipgate Complex

e1m2: Castle of the Damned

e1m3: the Necropolis

e1m4: the Grisly Grotto

*secretlevel * e1m8: Ziggurat Vertigo

e1m5: Gloom Keep

e1m6: The Door To Chthon

e1m7: The House of Chthon


As the corpse of the monstrous entity
Chthon sinks back into the lava whence
it rose, you grip the Rune of Earth
Magic tightly. Now that you have
conquered the Dimension of the Doomed,
realm of Earth Magic, you are ready to
complete your task. A Rune of magic
power lies at the end of each haunted
land of Quake. Go forth, seek the
totality of the four Runes!

Episode 2: The Realm of Black Magic

Ancient castles and strange beasts ahead...

e2m1: the Installation

e2m2: the Ogre Citadel

e2m3: the Crypt of Decay

*secretlevel * e2m7: the Underearth

e2m4: the Ebon Fortress

e2m5: the Wizard's Manse

e2m6: the Dismal Oubliette


The Rune of Black Magic throbs evilly in
your hand and whispers dark thoughts
into your brain. You learn the inmost
lore of the Hell-Mother; Shub-Niggurath!
You now know that she is behind all the
terrible plotting which has led to so
much death and horror. But she is not
inviolate! Armed with this Rune, you
realize that once all four Runes are
combined, the gate to Shub-Niggurath's
Pit will open, and you can face the
Witch-Goddess herself in her frightful
otherworld cathedral.

Episode 3: The Netherworld

Primal fear in a strange dimension...

e3m1: Termination Central

e3m2: The Vaults of Zin

e3m3: the Tomb of Terror

e3m4: Satan's Dark Delight

*secretlevel * e3m7: the Haunted Halls

e3m5: the Wind Tunnels

e3m6: Chambers of Torment


The charred viscera of diabolic horrors
bubble viscously as you seize the Rune
of Hell Magic. Its heat scorches your
hand, and its terrible secrets blight
your mind. Gathering the shreds of your
courage, you shake the devil's shackles
from your soul, and become ever more
hard and determined to destroy the
hideous creatures whose mere existence
threatens the souls and psyches of all
the population of Earth.

Episode 4: The Elder World

Your worst nightmares come true...

e4m1: the Sewage System

e4m2: The Tower of Despair

e4m3: The Elder God Shrine

e4m4: the Palace of Hate

e4m5: Hell's Atrium

*secretlevel * e4m8: the Nameless City

e4m6: The Pain Maze

e4m7: Azure Agony


Despite the awful might of the Elder
World, you have achieved the Rune of
Elder Magic, capstone of all types of
arcane wisdom. Beyond good and evil,
beyond life and death, the Rune
pulsates, heavy with import. Patient and
potent, the Elder Being Shub-Niggurath
weaves her dire plans to clear off all
life from the Earth, and bring her own
foul offspring to our world! For all the
dwellers in these nightmare dimensions
are her descendants! Once all Runes of
magic power are united, the energy
behind them will blast open the Gateway
to Shub-Niggurath, and you can travel
there to foil the Hell-Mother's plots
in person.


Now, you have all four Runes. You sense
tremendous invisible forces moving to
unseal ancient barriers. Shub-Niggurath
had hoped to use the Runes Herself to
clear off the Earth, but now instead,
you will use them to enter her home and
confront her as an avatar of avenging
Earth-life. If you defeat her, you will
be remembered forever as the savior of
the planet. If she conquers, it will be
as if you had never been born.

End: Shub-Niggurath's Pit

Shub-Niggurath awaits you...

end: Shub-Niggurath's Pit


Congratulations and well done! You have
beaten the hideous Shub-Niggurath, and
her hundreds of ugly changelings and
monsters. You have proven that your
skill and your cunning are greater than
nall the powers of Quake. You are the
master now. Id Software salutes you.