Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of ad_candles
Author:Comrade Beep
Title:Candles of the Damned
Download:ad_candles.zip (e32ca1e5df960c9dca577621a7ad3f30)
Filesize:10647 Kilobytes
Release date:31.10.2020
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔
Dependencies:ad_v1_80p1final

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
ad_candles.txt3 KB31.10.2020
maps/ad_candles.bsp16908 KB31.10.2020
maps/ad_candles.lit2726 KB31.10.2020
progs/bats.mdl274 KB02.10.2019
sound/ambience/baby1b_22k.wav1537 KB14.07.2019
sound/ambience/baby2a_22k.wav1109 KB14.07.2019
sound/ambience/bell.wav468 KB20.10.2019

ad_candles.zip

Candles of the Damned

Remake of E1M2 from Quake: a medium-sized medieval castle with many candles. The map was previously released as part of Halloween Jam 2. Among other things, this version features even more candles! Comes with a new bat model and some ambient sounds.

Note: This map requires Arcane Dimensions and a source port with increased limits + BSP2 support.


Tags: medieum, medieval, remake, remix, e1m2, models, sounds, ad, arcanedimensions, limits, bsp2, medium

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.6/5 with 25 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Gioyo3aa Registered, rated this a 5 8 November 2020, 17:07

Great new version, and thanks a lot for the secret finale! I almost quit at the beginning when I realised I had already played that map, and I'm glad I didn't.

The Silent Registered, rated this a 5 9 November 2020, 20:43

Great.

Ninja, rated this a 2 30 November 2020, 0:38

Out of the water, its a great map, but lots of water, its my thing only, hate playing quake, where you have to be in the water a lot of times,swimming to god knows where, and no oxygen...without water 5 with it.2


[This comment had to be restored. See this thread for context. This means that there might be problems with its formatting or content missing. The information if the user posted while being logged in was not restored. -Spirit]

Bonn is nice, rated this a 5 9 December 2020, 13:15

Based on the layout of e1m2 its an awsome map, excelent through and through.


[This comment had to be restored. See this thread for context. This means that there might be problems with its formatting or content missing. The information if the user posted while being logged in was not restored. -Spirit]

dwere 19 December 2020, 5:27

The screenshot says it all, really.

Years ago, I made the mistake of thinking that Quake has successfully skipped its own version of Doom's overdetailing era. It probably had something to do with the lack of mainstream interest in the game. Darkplaces crowd feels separate from this place, much like the Doomsday community does not overlap with the primary mapping scene of Doom in any meaningful way. Doom, however, always seemed to enjoy a greater flow of new content, which means attracting ambitious amateurs in larger quantities, which would ultimately influence the community-specific design language.

Enter Arcane Dimensions.

All the signs are there. I'm not even talking about the venerable "every brick is a brush (and every book is a bunch)" mapping principle. It has little to do with complexity. This map, for instance, is very clean. But look at those impeccably rectangular details carefully aligned with the grid. Curves that have no excuse being this curvy in an environment that doesn't just look decaying, but pretty rugged to begin with. And that perfectly symmetrical sign on the door - probably an accident, but it's a great analogy for this rigid and unnatural kind of design.

I don't want to discourage people from making or remaking things for Quake. But I hope that this will be a starting point for something more ambitious than adding curves and rectangles to an already rectangular layout.


[This comment had to be restored. See this thread for context. This means that there might be problems with its formatting or content missing. The information if the user posted while being logged in was not restored. -Spirit]

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 27 March 2021, 19:57

Lovely to revisit familiar places and see them so completely transformed. This version doesn't seem much different from the one in the Halloween Jam, but I was more than happy to play it again. It'a a little frustrating, though, to have finished with 106/170 kills — presumably one of the five secrets I missed concealed a horde. I wonder if they spawn when you pick up the quad floating high about the altar? Oh well.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in