Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of bnt
Author:Jim Hendrickson
Title:Bridges & Towers
Download:bnt.zip (654bed362088329a2cecb56d06ce536d)
Filesize:811 Kilobytes
Release date:26.08.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'serc's QualitySPQ Level HeavenTEAMShamblerUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
BNT.TXT4 KB26.08.1997
BNT.BSP1965 KB26.08.1997

bnt.zip - Bridges & Towers

Large interconnected Metal level.

Tags: metal, nonlinear, medium

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.2/5 with 24 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Qmaster, rated this a 5 10 December 2011, 0:26
When at the end of the level I find that I only have 1/6 secrets then I'm definitely impressed! This was a great classic map with good secrets and great gameplay, especially the ramp tower part. Note: Red Shootable Button Secret appears to have no effect or benefit.
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 5 19 April 2013, 13:35

Very good map for its time, with great Played on nightmare. 2/6 secrets.

Interconnectivity and non directional most of times and non-linear layout. Brushwork and lighting are nice, and the secrets are well placed, i only found 2 after looking actively for them, but they aren't in some stupidly difficult places. Difficulty is lower than ID maps. Ammo is well placed and in the right amounts, but there is too much health.

Only real downside is the gameplay, it doesn't get boring, but there is only 1 ambush, no monster closets, and all monsters attack you from the front.

Because of that, even thought i put a 5 rating at first, i do think it deserves better a 4-4,9.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 4 28 February 2014, 5:02

I thought this map was excellent, a good challenge for me and unique in a few ways; especially for its time. You can watch a video I made for it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qfdv8k2sOR4

JellyGal Registered, rated this a 5 12 August 2014, 23:03

One of my favourite maps! I love nonlinearity and this map does it amazingly. It has great secrets as well, and amazing combat. The visuals are definitely great for a 1997 release, and still hold up today. I can only think of one complaint and that's the "two doors have been opened" button at the end, I was running around for multiple minutes with nothing to do, it was very confusing. The atmosphere is also very good in this level. The switches were also placed well placed, whether they be hidden or in plain sight and hard to get to. I recommend this map to everybody!

Spirit Registered, rated this a 4 2 August 2015, 17:35

Couldn't find the exit after the "two doors have been opened" message. :O Nice map!

PFL Registered, rated this a 5 18 November 2015, 23:45

Agree with everything that's been said. Fantastic stuff for the time and still well worth a play-through today. A real little gem of a map.

PS: Try it on Nightmare - that'll keep you on your toes!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 19 January 2016, 12:25

A good map even today; it must have been top notch when it came out. There's a lot of exploring to do, and some nicely judged combats along the way.

When "two doors have opened" at the end of the game, one of them is back at the very start of the map. (It took me a while to find that, too!)

JMP Registered, rated this a 5 14 September 2016, 5:36

One of the best standalone maps of the 1990s, and one that rewards repeat play: I found the non-linearity confusing on my first run through, but once I got the lay of the land it became really fun to play again. The architecture is high-quality--I particularly liked the moving wall. I only got 4/6 secrets, but the ones I found were clever and well-placed.

Bloughsburgh Registered, rated this a 4 16 November 2016, 13:14

Impressive map for its time with a few new tricks that I honestly have never encountered in a quake map.

The moving wall was such a brief but fun experience, gives me some ideas for my maps at that! The level flows together nicely if maybe a bit on the confusing side. Great use of water environments and an underwater vore fight?? Marvelous! I only found 2 secrets out of 6 so they are either very well hidden, I am blind, or the visual language is poor. I do not understand the point of the TB secret location as it is literally in the same room as the exit without any baddies to test it on?

Great map, recommended.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in