Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of bnt2
Author:Jim Hendrickson
Title:The Hallowed Halls
Download:bnt2.zip (d04b594c69df46337d328659901c38a5)
Filesize:492 Kilobytes
Release date:11.09.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'sQuake Map HotelSPQ Level HeavenTEAMShambler
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
BNT2.BSP1174 KB11.09.1997
BNT2.TXT3 KB11.09.1997

bnt2.zip - The Hallowed Halls

Small to medium-sized wizmetal map with nice looks but somewhat easily confusing layout - similar-looking corridors demand a little exploration. It is meant as the successing map to bnt. OK.

Tags: metal, wizard

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 3.1/5 with 10 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 3 21 July 2016, 7:11

I think we know where czg might have got the "shoot the rocket into the hole to progress" trick from when he made Honey....

JMP Registered, rated this a 4 14 February 2017, 3:04

A sequel to the author's previous map, Bridges and Towers. It's done in the same style but on a smaller scale and with less complexity. Bridges was one of the best maps of the 90s. This is less impressive, but I'd still call it better than "average" or "OK." It's polished and well-built, making good use of Quake's 3D capabilities.

ru Guest 12 June 2017, 22:28

Wonderful map! Complex bridge labyrinth and wonderful riddles. Moreover I've never seen a cube with buttons in any other Quake level. And actually, the "rocket hole" idea was invented way back in 1997! :) Definitely deserves at least the "good" mark.

Repus Guest 20 November 2017, 19:51

I've seen some pretty straight forward dumb levels on this resource ranked "nice" by the editor, and this level deserves more than "average" rating.

Yes, it is shorter than the first part, and there are no secrets (that I hate), but it is still well-thought polished and complex level. It also shows some cool ideas, i. e. silver and golden keys coming down from the ceiling on a sort of a hook.

If you're using darkplaces engine, don't bother trying playing this map, 'cause those hooks mentioned above with: the silver key, the golden key and the rune come down EMPTY, and the whole game in this level is based around these three elements. I encountered this problem in other levels with darkplaces, but it was usually absence of an item in a secret area, which was not so crucial. Too bad. I was lucky to play this level back in the late 90's, when the best thing you could imagine with Quake was running GLQuake with Voodoo 2 videocard installed on your Pentium 2, and nobody thought of enhanced engines for Quake, so back then I actually saw the keys and the rune.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 3 22 November 2017, 2:20

Use QuakeSpasm. ;)

The editors try to rate "objectively" which for old 90s maps means "for the time." I agree though, there are better 90s maps, including the author's previous one. I found this one really confusing when I first played it, to be honest.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in