Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of castled
Author:Steve Rescoe
Title:Castled!
Download:castled.zip (16c1c664c479de9ff7feaac9c8b44751)
Filesize:590 Kilobytes
Release date:06.03.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'sSPQ Level HeavenTEAMShamblerUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
castled!.bsp1295 KB05.03.1997
castled!.txt2 KB06.03.1997

castled.zip - Castled!

Smallish castle. OK.

Tags: small, medieval, castle, planetquake-map-of-the-week

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 3.3/5 with 13 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 22 April 2014, 13:44

Quite a nice map, featuring a surprisingly large and realistic castle for its time, and some great details, like furniture and an armoury with medieval weaponry.

There is something about the choice of textures that does not feel right, though. They seem almost cartoonish, and fail to lend appropriate weight to the architecture. Plus, the final battle was a little silly.

JellyGal Registered, rated this a 2 12 August 2014, 17:44

I like the idea, and the visuals are pretty good. But there are some really bad flaws that kept me from enjoying Castled! at all. Firstly, there's no direction. I never had any idea where to go in the castle, which made this short map seem a lot longer. Secondly, there's having the player ration their ammo, then there's this. They almost never give you any ammo. Lastly, that final battle was just stupid. Ending your map with a large battle is good, but this is not the way to do it. Putting pretty much every enemy in a cramped room with the player is just a horrible design choice. I don't recommend this map at all.

WhileTheFinal Guest 27 November 2018, 19:06

While the final battle was silly, I had fun figuring out how to kill everyone before exiting the level. 3/5

Esrael Registered, rated this a 2 9 December 2018, 12:48

I'll have to agree with Jellygal here. If you're lucky, you will enter the rooms with tons of armor, weapons and ammo, but if you're unlucky, like I was, you're going to be running low on everything, turning the map into an exercise in frustration.

That's the problem with sprawling maps like these, if they're not handled well. I sure spent a lot of time wandering and trying to remember where the different rooms were and how to get to them.

As stated by others, the map looks nice, but because of the bad experience I had playing the map, I feel like rating it 2/5 at the moment. Had I explored the right rooms, I might like to rate this 3 or 4/5. But the thing is, the map should be enjoyable to play, no matter which path you decide to choose.

P.S. Is anybody reminded of King's Quest when looking at the screenshot? :D

Solomoriah Registered, rated this a 4 15 October 2019, 1:32

Enjoyable, though I agree the final battle is kind of silly. I finished the level without killing all the monsters, basically by unloading a big pile o' nails on them to clear the way and then running around the perimeter of the room. It paid off to save the red armor for the end.

JMP Registered, rated this a 4 15 October 2019, 21:22

Very good map. Mr. Rescoe managed to create a realistic castle while retaining Quake's unique atmosphere. With a better ending, this would have been a 5/5; as is, it's still head and shoulders above most other maps from early 1997.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in