Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of damaul6
Author:John "DaMaul" McCann
Title:Bestial Devastation
Download:damaul6.zip (3904a0064381a2d4643d8cd48f55e1df)
Filesize:921 Kilobytes
Release date:18.06.1999
Homepage:
Additional Links: erc's ExcellenceTEAMShamblerUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘
Dependencies:zer

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
DaMaul6.bsp2206 KB18.06.1999
DaMaul6.txt5 KB18.06.1999
README1ST!.txt1 KB18.06.1999

damaul6.zip - Bestial Devastation

Very large industrial/Zerbase level with great details and gameplay. Works in id1 too but then it is quite hard.

Tags: industrial, base, huge, classic, large, zerstorer, planetquake-map-of-the-week

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.4/5 with 18 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
onetruepurple, rated this a 5 4 November 2011, 17:05
This stood the test of time very well.
Spirit Registered, rated this a 4 19 May 2013, 16:38

I just played this in id1 because the Injector made me. It was quite hard at some points but good fun.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 7 July 2014, 16:28

I've played this a few times before, and always felt it was a classic example of a map that's very hard at the start (especially with the lack of ammunition), and then comes out much easier towards the end. It's beautifully put together, though, no doubt about that.

I can't remember how to progress from the first big room, where the gold-key door is. Can someone please remind me?

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 8 July 2014, 12:06

Oh, silly me -- I found it. It's a shootable button recessed into the wall above the door that you entered by.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 8 July 2014, 18:20

Finished it again. I was really torn over whether to score it 4 or 5, but in the end I went for 4 because (for me anyway) it's just that bit too hard on Hard. The main source of difficulty is lack of ammo, and that's not a kind of difficulty that I find very enjoyable. I guess next time I should play on medium.

It is superbly put together, though, no question. A couple more boxes of shells and it would have been a 5/5 map for me.

Butane Registered 9 November 2016, 4:00

Easy 5 if it weren't for the lack of ammo. Want to make a challenging map in an old school FPS game? Make the health packs scarce, NOT the ammo.

itsme Registered, rated this a 5 10 June 2018, 20:24

Although the description is correct in that this map technically functions without zer, many of the triggers are broken by its absence. This leads to too many enemies being present when they shouldn't be and that plus the map being balanced for the absurd efficiency of zer weapons is what's leading to the ammo problems.

Played with Zerstörer (as appears to be fixed in the Injector now) it's a very nice map with a great sense of progression, some well-placed setpieces and attractive brushwork. I liked it far more than anything in zer itself, even accounting for the couple of years between them... this is definitely something that's aged well.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in