Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of darknite
Author:Neil Manke
Title:darknite
Download:darknite.zip (30656b4e4cc5468431d71f0355bac74e)
Filesize:474 Kilobytes
Release date:18.01.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'sQuake Map HotelQuake TerminusUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
darknite.bsp1081 KB18.01.1997

darknite.zip - darknite

Small, dark wizard map.

Tags: medieval, wizard, small, castle, dark, chapel, realism, puzzles

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 3.1/5 with 10 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
goddogx 25 January 2011, 20:47
first quake map by the great neil manke, arguably the greatest 90's mapper!
Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 16 December 2013, 17:27

Well, you can't accuse this map of false advertising: it is dark. Very, very dark. Any darker and it would just be a pitch black map.

It is not as good as Neil Manke's later medieval maps, but still good, and it has his signature realistic details (fireplaces, furniture, etc.) and strong sense of narrative. The somewhat oblique hints and other messages were well-implemented. One message in particular made me laugh out loud.

There is a point late in the map where you have to get on a raising platform, which I think should have been better indicated. Otherwise, progression is fun and interesting without being frustrating – provided that you are a patient player and enjoy puzzle-oriented gameplay. Whereas alba01, alba02 and siluette are all a 3 plus to me, this is more of a clear 3, but still recommended if it sounds like your kind of map (and if you don't mind the darkness).

dBAudio Registered, rated this a 3 22 February 2014, 13:46

dark & a bit confusing, but worth a try. the puzzles were ok.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 3 19 April 2014, 2:01

I liked the environmental puzzles (jumping or using parts of the level to get to other places that aren't immediately apparent) but the map really is just too dark. I was able to cruise through it just fine but I could easily see someone getting confused in the last room as it's not very straight forward on what you need to do. Overall though, it's not too bad! Watch me play it here: Darknite - The Quake Grave

Esrael Registered, rated this a 3 3 March 2018, 10:16

I like the atmosphere of the map, with its dark and dank castle where the wind is howling, the denizens of the castle barely able to keep themselves warm with the meager fireplaces in minimal lighting.

Yes, minimal lighting, dark, as one might call it. Yes, it's dark, a bit too dark, as everyone has been stating before me. I'm not sure if the atmosphere of the map would be as nice and bleak if there was more light or not. It's still too dark, unfortunately. I guess finding the right balance between playability and atmosphere can be quite difficult sometimes, but in this one, sacrifices had been made in playability, unfortunately.

pmk Guest 7 December 2018, 0:47

I would give this a map an average rating as the map is functional and playable it is also excessively dark and hard to know how to navigate through it sometimes. Also i feel the enemy placement within the map was not that great as certain enemies can picked off easily due to environmental designs such as the fiends being caught before slow moving doors. I would still give this map a three out of five rating and say it is worth a quick play through if you are interested in playing Neil Manke's early modding projects.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in