Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of demonslair
Author:Peter Bisseker (tiddles)
Title:The Demons Lair
Download:demonslair.zip (f63486a5675455a9e1b1191bfded6023)
Filesize:406 Kilobytes
Release date:02.09.1999
Homepage:
Additional Links: TEAMShamblerUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
demons.bsp1000 KB02.09.1999
demons-lair.txt3 KB02.09.1999

demonslair.zip - The Demons Lair

Medium sized Metal level. Quite hard.

Tags: metal, hard, coop, medium

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.1/5 with 14 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Spirit, rated this a 4 25 July 2008, 16:06
Nice, I never played this before. Excellent indeed. Some great gameplay ideas (the ogres) and good balance.
Lord of the Undead 27 September 2009, 4:41
Obscenely hard, cruelly designed and somewhat frustrating. These are exactly what make really good Quake maps so goddamn fun.
Spirit, rated this a 4 23 May 2010, 11:00
With a bit more health this map would be much more enjoyable. The end is just mean.
Pritchard Registered, rated this a 5 17 October 2016, 12:00

I found the difficulty quite comfortable on this map (skill 1), and I can't say I struggled with the same issues that the commenters above had. To me this is a great example of a good, early-ish map in Quake's history; it's no looker, but it's hardly ugly and it more than makes up for its lack of visual flair with great gameplay that challenges you to think carefully about how you fight.

It's never so challenging as to be unreasonable, though; for example, at the end of the map the player is given both a YA and a megahealth right before the final climax, as well as plenty of ammunition. But, not enough ammunition. To really succeed in that combat, I needed to have conserved my nails in previous areas, which I tend to do in general and my habit served me quite well here.

Definitely a great map.

OP Registered, rated this a 4 13 November 2016, 23:51

No trouble on skill 2, I didn't even see the MH or YA.

Worth playing.

OP Registered, rated this a 4 14 November 2016, 1:24

Played it again.

The layout is simple but fun because of decent enemy placement and choice, though it's easy to abuse the corners. I'd say the design & lighting are very good for the time also.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 22 November 2016, 11:19

Satisfyingly straightforward. Not a classic, but very chunky and enjoyable. In the late 1990s it would have felt superb, but now the small size and lack of internal coherence mark it down a couple of stars for me. BTW. contra some earlier comments, it's not particularly hard -- at least, not if you like to play slowly and carefully.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 4 December 2017, 21:27

I did find this to be quite a challenge for its size--two deaths--mostly due to the tight geometry and monster placement. If you're playing on skill 2 you do have to be quite careful, and quick-witted too, for there are some nasty ambushes.

Andrew Smith Registered 27 January 2018, 23:17

Loved this! Nice challenge on nightmare, with some good traps. I liked the main trap which I'll not say any more about. Good architecture and lighting. Highly recommended.

JMP Guest, rated this a 4 29 January 2018, 18:23

Really fun map. After reading the previous comments, I expected some fierce ambushes, yet the end fight still caught me off guard.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in