Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of despair2
Author:Steve Rescoe
Title:Liquid Despair
Download:despair2.zip (490765bb15a24c06cdac6fbc7c0c68cd)
Filesize:457 Kilobytes
Release date:29.11.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'sSPQ Level HeavenTEAMShamblerUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
Despair2.txt3 KB29.11.1996
despair2.bsp1031 KB29.11.1996

despair2.zip - Liquid Despair

Improved version of the first Liquid Despair map. A medium sized Episode4-style map relying on water for progression in all directions.

Tags: medium, medieval, e4, water, elder world

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 3.5/5 with 18 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
xDDGx Registered, rated this a 4 24 June 2014, 15:53

Very interesting level, unusual usage of water and general design. Definitely like it.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 27 June 2014, 16:48

Rather clumsily put together (especially by modern standards) but some genuinely interesting ideas make this worth playing even in 2014.

Noxat Registered, rated this a 3 18 October 2015, 0:19

Some genuinely cool ideas and architecture but something about this map just rubs me the wrong way. Maybe it is the slight ammo starvation early on or the overuse of purple slimes, but I was just not terribly impressed.

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 4 10 October 2016, 17:34

Very clever use of water. This kind of experimental/surreal stuff is part of what makes Quake stand apart 20 years on. A bit blocky and undetailed, which is perfectly normal for a 1996 map. Layout is somewhat cramped but it doesn't really harm combat, which is quite easy on skill 2. Secrets are a bit on the easy side as well, even if [SPOILER] there's one that you need to axe twice to open. [END SPOILER] Hands down the most interesting Steve Rescoe map I've played thus far, the others being Shadow Over Innsmouth and Village of Dread.

Bloughsburgh Registered, rated this a 4 11 October 2016, 14:01

Lovely use of water, I had a blast playing this short by sweet original map way back when. A lot of the level is actually quite plain but the use of water walls and such really make it stand out from other 1996 maps!

Pasokon Deacon Registered, rated this a 4 29 January 2017, 22:00

This map really stood out to me when I played it a year and a half ago. It's not just the water walls and fun combat/progression, but also how this weirdness makes it feel more like an Elder World map than a Medieval one. Some part of the map hew closer to the climax from Shadow over Innsmouth, but otherwise it's a very solid map that could have fit right alongside Ziggurat Vertigo in the base game.

JMP Registered, rated this a 3 8 February 2017, 5:05

Some really creative ideas, but I found the gameplay frustrating. There are underwater purple slimes, there are parts of the map where losing health points by drowning is unavoidable or close to it, a dog leaps at the player immediately at the start of the map, and a bunch of other annoying things.

The secrets are odd. The end message says I got 2/3, but I don't remember seeing the second one at all. There's also at least three unofficial secrets.

pmk Guest 27 October 2018, 4:14

I enjoyed how water was used as a key aspect in traversing this map and this feature made playing this map a unique experience. There was plenty of combat throughout this map and unique secrets waiting to be discovered by the player. Overall i felt this was an enjoyable map and probably the author's best one so far. I would give this map a three out of five rating and say it is worth a play through.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in