Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of epoch
Author:Andrew Smith
Title:The Epoch Turning
Download:epoch.zip (4af48516c9e9f257f935bf980b507a0f)
Filesize:748 Kilobytes
Release date:27.02.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'serc's QualityRetroquakeSPQ Level HeavenTEAMShamblerUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
EPOCH.TXT4 KB27.02.1997
EPOCH.BSP1692 KB27.02.1997

epoch.zip - The Epoch Turning

Large Wizard map with caverns and a Base bit.

Tags: medieval, base, necropolis, large, wizard, caverns, planetquake-map-of-the-week, dm

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 4/5 with 21 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Spirit, rated this a 4 13 February 2009, 14:45
Very nice map. Feels very Quake-ish. The ending transition into a base theme feels a bit undeveloped though.
Pritchard Registered, rated this a 4 25 May 2016, 15:06

I found the ammo balance to be quite lacking, I spent most of the map with no shells whatsoever. I assume that was by design however, as other ammotypes such as nails and rockets were plentiful.

Otherwise, an enjoyable map. The theme transition was short but sweet.

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 4 23 October 2016, 11:26

I first rated it 3 stars (more like 3.5 really) but upon seeing the release date I upped it to a 4.

Like Pritchard said, an enjoyable map, but it wouldn't have anything memorable if it weren't for the base bit, which felt out of place IMHO. Quite easy on skill 2 and a bit heavy on nails and ogres. Secrets are classic id1 style. I missed one though: got the quad, MH and LG but if someone has found the last one, please share.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 28 October 2016, 15:50

Very easy and I suppose not especially creative, but an enormous amount of fun. I'm glad bfg666 stumbled across this one, and that his review pointed me at it.

JMP Registered, rated this a 4 23 March 2017, 10:38

Essentially a Quake remix: many of the individual rooms are similar to rooms from E1M4, although the overall layout is different. Detail is slightly lower than in id maps, but the layout, texturing, etc are done well.

The combat is repetitive, with too many one-on-one fights in long hallways and staircases, although there are also a few challenging fights.

I liked the placement of the base section. It's a nice twist on how mappers usually integrate base and medieval themes.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 4 1 December 2018, 16:37

For the time the map looks excellent, and in brushwork/texturing still holds up today pretty well, in my opinion. I guess lighting would be its weak point, since it looks a bit drab and uniform.

I really liked the variation in theme, which brought a breath of fresh air once the combat started getting too repetitive. There are a tad too many bullet sponges in the map and the ammo economy feels a bit off, with plenty of nails on offer for the SNG. Combat feels more of a deterrent than a challenge at times. Just pick up the next batch of 100 nails lying around and hose them down with the SNG.

Still, it's an enjoyable experience worth exploring. The secrets are nice, too. Speaking of which, bfg666, you missed the ring of shadows secret near the red armor.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in