Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of evilwrld
Author:Matt Sefton
Title:EvilWorld 1
Download:evilwrld.zip (6015fb4cee4cf9995e7b7a19514b5644)
Filesize:525 Kilobytes
Release date:17.11.1996
Homepage:http://ds.dial.pipex.com/matt.sefton
Additional Links: Crash'sGeniac's PlaylistRetroquakeSPQ Level HeavenTEAMShamblerUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
evilwrld.bsp1219 KB17.11.1996
evilwrld.txt4 KB17.11.1996

evilwrld.zip - EvilWorld 1

Medium sized Metal level with a pyramid. OK.

Tags: medium, metal, pyramid, traps, runic

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 3.3/5 with 17 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Spirit 4 November 2009, 13:35
And with a stupid lava trap. :(
jackieben Registered, rated this a 4 8 January 2014, 18:03

Not as well-made as arcane but still very good

Spirit: Which is easily avoided :D

dBAudio Registered, rated this a 3 21 February 2014, 0:46

i must've missed the lava trap. or caught it before i turned into a hot slag.

xDDGx Registered, rated this a 4 18 June 2014, 2:09

This author really liked lava traps...

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 12 November 2014, 12:59

Matt Sefton's earliest map, which I came to having played his lostwrld, the earliest map in the archive to score more than 4.0. This one has some nice touches, too, but lacks the other's sense of progression. Still fun.

JellyGal Registered, rated this a 2 14 December 2014, 3:21

I didn't enjoy this too much. The architecture is really cool for 1996, but the gameplay is not. There is a part where I do not think avoiding damage is possible. Also, while there is a way out of the first lava trap, I did not see a way out of the second. There's also an elevator that brings you up to a place where enemies are instantly jammed in your face, as well as a part where you pretty much just can't avoid a shambler's attacks. Not really worth playing IMO.

Noxat Registered, rated this a 3 4 August 2015, 21:08

A short map with good brush work, nice flow, a few devious lava traps and a handful of middling monster encounters, including requisite "boss" shambler. Decent, but nothing terribly memorable.

NoNameUser Guest 31 May 2016, 14:41

I'm assuming the heinous lava trap is the one in the room with the quad, right? You can easily fall the first time but it's even easier to avoid afterwards, it's hardly a big deal. I have no idea where's the second “unavoidable” trap mentioned by JellyGal, but the part “where enemies are instantly jammed in your face”, it's just an ogre and a few knights that can be quickly dispatched with the super nailgun, which you can get near the start in a secret area that is impossible to miss unless you're completely blind.

Seriously, this is just nitpicking on a good, if a tad short map. I'm surprised it's from 1996.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 4 2 October 2017, 21:32

Aesthetics: Excellent brushwork, texturing and interesting design. Not much to complain here.

Combat: Nothing particularly memorable. Monster placement was hit and miss: On one hand grunts were given some cool sniper windows to shoot at the player but on the other hand zombies were placed in wide open areas for easy pickings and an ogre on a place where they could hardly hit the player.

Gameplay in general: Kind of inconsistent. The overall pacing is pretty good in my opinion, but there's a painfully easy secret with powerful equipment, which makes the map too easy. On the other hand, there was a secret which I found only by sheer luck, and didn't seem to have many clues going for it.

Overall, it was an enjoyable map that was fun to play. Very good for 1996.

pmk Guest 25 October 2018, 0:58

Decent metal themed from 1996 with nonlinear progression and some excellent brushwork and architecture throughout the map. I felt that the game play of the map could have been better with some more intense combat scenarios and more higher level enemies. Some of the traps within the level were pretty cheap such as platforms that sink into the lava pits below. Overall it is a decent quake map to play and would give it a three out of five rating.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in