Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of guard
Author:Andrew Smith
Title:The Guardhouse
Download:guard.zip (d7df922e98c58e0c11f93534fef02610)
Filesize:479 Kilobytes
Release date:17.11.1996
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'sGeniac's PlaylistSPQ Level HeavenTEAMShamblerUnderworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
quard.txt4 KB17.11.1996
pak0.pak1131 KB17.11.1996

guard.zip - The Guardhouse

Medium sized detailed Metal level with base and medieval monsters. Comes with a start map. Unnecessarily released as a PAK.

Tags: medium, runic, start, metal, cave, cavern, traps

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 3.8/5 with 22 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
dBAudio Registered, rated this a 4 21 February 2014, 0:56

decent. too bad it's not larger.

Noxat Registered, rated this a 5 6 August 2015, 1:13

A fantastic map! The brushwork is great with lots of detail and atmosphere. The map is rather linear but flows very well. The difficulty ramps up nicely, although there is at least one monster trap that borders on being cheap (at least in hard difficulty) but not unmanageable. Overall this is one of the best of the early maps that I've played.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 8 August 2015, 16:39

Perfectly enjoyable, but I don't really understand Noxat's enthusiasm. I'd say it was good for 1996, but no better than ID's levels, and certainly nothing close to a 5* map by modern standards.

kewlsnake Registered, rated this a 3 12 December 2015, 22:52

Average. I finished it pretty quickly, not really memorable but not a bad map by any means.

Andrew Smith Guest 3 June 2016, 16:32

"Unnecessarily released as a PAK" yeah I always regretted not releasing this as a single BSP. I had grand plans to do a whole new episode and it seemed like a good idea at the time to do a start map and release in a PAK. Ah well, really happy to see people are still enjoying the level anyway :-)

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 3 3 June 2016, 20:54

You should finish the episode. :)

spy Guest 5 June 2016, 13:21

Andrew Smith is one of my favorite mappers from the 90's, maybe it's not his best effort, comparing his other works "carnage" and "epoch", but definitely worth a try 4/5

Glad you're still around Mr. Smith

Butane Registered 25 October 2016, 21:25

"You should finish the episode. :)"

Yeah, 20 years later, why not? Lol

I love seeing these veterans show up on the community 2 decades later. Quake is one of a kind.

Good map btw.

JMP Registered, rated this a 4 20 March 2017, 18:29

Fantastic map, I can't believe I've never played this before. I generally dislike humanoids and monsters mixed together, but here it works. This is smaller and less detailed than the best custom maps of 1997 (including one of the author's own maps), but for 1996 it's excellent, and it approximates id quality.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 4 6 October 2017, 19:44

A really nice map. In terms of looks it's top notch, especially for 1996. The map has a good flow to it with challenging, if not occasionally cheap encounters, as mentioned by Noxat. A bit too cheap in my opinion, which lowers the score for me. There was also a secret that had a cool clue going with it.

brunomiwa Registered, rated this a 3 17 February 2018, 1:35

I'm not a nitpicking person, the looks it's awesome. But it felt very cheap as other have mentioned above.

One thing that stood out it was that I really find it weird mixing base enemies with monsters. This map used a lot of teleporting enemies behind the player, especially fiends, which it was so annoying that I had to backtrack for health nearly quitting the map. It didn't have a signal on the floor, nothing to give the player a chance to notice the outcome.

I liked the idea of having the grenade launcher right from the start but with very limited ammo. Giving the player the choice of using it or saving for the acid zombies. But if you have used all the rockets, you could just swim away OR find the hehe secret.

pmk Guest 25 October 2018, 2:49

okay map from 1996, not really a fan of the cheap enemy encounters. It's a well built map for its time but i feel that they are better quake maps out there to play through. The map gets an average rating of three out of five from me.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in