Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of harmsway
Author:Brian Morgan (Duley)
Title:Harm's Way
Download:harmsway.zip (b030fee6b5456e31b402d8881d6bb1d1)
Filesize:886 Kilobytes
Release date:20.10.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Geniac's PlaylistSPQ Level HeavenTEAMShamblerUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
harmsway.txt10 KB20.10.1997
harmsway.bsp2087 KB18.10.1997

harmsway.zip - Harm's Way

Medium sized clean Base map hosting a genetic experiments facility.

Tags: medium, base, planetquake-map-of-the-week

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 3.3/5 with 10 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Spirit 6 March 2011, 11:45
Good map for its age.
bfg666 Registered, rated this a 2 12 September 2016, 12:48

After playing The Stone of Tear, I wanted to try Duley's other map. Yeah, this one. Well it's a disappointment. A quite generic, despite a couple nice ideas, base map with an apparently more crude brushwork than Stone, which was released 6 months prior. Texturing could have used more work and there's at least one mistake: a ground texture made of stone tiles with grass in between was used as a wall. Harm's Way being a base map, don't expect very interesting combat despite some variation with the inclusion of zombies (the "genetic experiments"). Secrets are nice, intelligently placed and not too hard to find.

JMP Registered, rated this a 4 24 September 2016, 10:41

@bfg666 -- I'm curious if you found all the secrets. I got two of them (a quad damage and a megahealth) and noticed a third (yellow armor on a ledge) but couldn't figure out how to access it. No idea where the fourth one is.

Anyway, I agree with your assessment... the map layout is decent, but the textures are uninspiring and the combat is often annoying. In particular, I disliked the mix of zombies and enforcers near the end of the map. IMO they require two very different styles of combat, so putting them together makes for a frustrating battle.

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 2 24 September 2016, 13:26

[SPOILERS] In the hallway to the gold key door, go in the second balcony, look up, shooting the button activates an elevator to the outside area. Red armor + rockets. Continue along the path (stay on the second floor) until you can't go further. You're in a room with the nailgun in a corner and an opening in the wall. Jump into the opening, step on the small ledge on the other side, axe/shoot the bloody texture, take revealed teleporter. Yellow armor.

You're welcome.

JMP Guest, rated this a 4 24 September 2016, 21:10

Thank you!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 24 September 2016, 21:32

Very enjoyable in a low-key way, but terribly under-populated and correspondingly way too easy. It could do with literally three times as many monsters (and of course correspondingly more ammo). Otherwise it's rather nice work.

Pritchard Registered, rated this a 4 10 February 2017, 12:55

I agree with MikeTaylor about the population, but it was nice to have an easy level for a change. Really big fan of base maps so this scratched my itch!

brunomiwa Registered, rated this a 4 30 January 2018, 12:18

Cool map, although very easy. Plausable traps. Liked the absence of armor, except in the secrets.

What I really liked is that you are rewarded if you explore the map. Found the nailgun near the end.

JMP Registered, rated this a 4 15 July 2018, 7:48

Replayed this and liked it much more the second time. A fun map that's generally easy but has a few areas with tough, hectic combat.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in