Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of ikspq1
Author:Iikka "Fingers" Keränen
Title:Before Nightfall
Download:ikspq1.zip (24c194929e199c1979c86478cf614b33)
Filesize:322 Kilobytes
Release date:27.05.1997
Homepage:http://ikq.planetquake.gamespy.com
Additional Links: Crash'sGeniac's PlaylistRetroquakeTEAMShamblerTen FourUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
IKSPQ1.TXT5 KB27.05.1997
IKSPQ1.BSP722 KB26.05.1997

ikspq1.zip - Before Nightfall

First map of the IKSPQ series: a small Wizard castle in the mountains.

Tags: wizard, castle, medieval, small, series

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 2.9/5 with 19 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
NightFright Registered, rated this a 4 4 February 2014, 14:42

Maybe not as good as the following installations of the IKSPQ series (2-5), but nevertheless a good intro map for the mini episode.

JellyGal Registered, rated this a 3 9 December 2014, 23:34

It's a rather nice looking but easy level, but I think I skipped some monster spawns because I could not find that button and noclipped past the stair cover thing. Where the heck was that button?

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 2 10 December 2014, 2:42

I had the same problem, i.e. getting stuck and having to noclip. It's kind of an ugly and poorly laid-out map to begin with (esp. compared to the Ikblue levels that came after) but that just made me angry.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 2 12 December 2014, 18:04

I'm also stuck at the stair-cover -- I can't find the button either. Can anyone tell us all where it is?

negke Registered 12 December 2014, 18:32

Go through the silver key door, then jump up onto the battlements.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 2 12 December 2014, 20:17

I did that before. There is a small triangular eminence that looks like it could be a button, but neither standing on it nor shooting it did anything. What am I missing? (Thanks for your help!)

negke Registered 13 December 2014, 11:03

Come on, now... You can even see it on the screenshot!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 2 14 December 2014, 22:57

Thank you -- obvious when you know, but I'm not sure I would ever have found it.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 2 16 December 2014, 11:30

Having finished this (and the other ikspq maps), I'd have to rate this opening episode merely OK, "passes the time painlessly". Better things await.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 2 1 June 2016, 21:53

I decided to replay the IKSPQ series and I did find the button this time around. Frankly I think it would be better if it opened up a secret door rather than the intended path through the level. Aside from that, I think the castle is too cramped and the ammo supply to limited for the difficulty (on Hard), and it just doesn't look nearly as good as the following maps in the series.

Doc_Holliday Registered 3 July 2016, 13:19

hahahaha in the screen shot...see it now ;)

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 2 17 August 2016, 23:30

OK, ummm, I killed everyone, found the 2 not-so-secrets, got the gold key but somehow I can't seem to find the exit or any gold door. What am I missing ? And yes, I've found the button @ the tower that's clearly not hard to find if you just look around a bit...

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 2 18 October 2016, 17:05

This time around, I had time to read the centerprint: for anyone else wondering, the start slipgate is also the exit. Go figure.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in