Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of ikspq2
Author:Iikka "Fingers" Keränen
Title:Temple of the Thousand-Faced Moon
Download:ikspq2.zip (32a5a25c4bb48405270746349d3e817a)
Filesize:427 Kilobytes
Release date:19.05.1997
Homepage:http://ikq.planetquake.gamespy.com
Additional Links: Crash'sRetroquakeTEAMShamblerTen FourUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
IKSPQ2.TXT6 KB19.05.1997
IKSPQ2.BSP1105 KB15.05.1997

ikspq2.zip - Temple of the Thousand-Faced Moon

Second map of the IKSPQ series: a medium sized blue temple map. Nice.

Tags: blue, temple, medium, ikblue, mustplay, series

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4/5 with 18 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Daz Registered, rated this a 4 6 March 2014, 23:34
JellyGal Registered, rated this a 4 9 December 2014, 23:51

I wouldn't really say it's excellent or a must play, but it's certainly fun. The difficulty is very good in my opinion, not super hardcore but not too easy. One thing I noticed is that a lot of the arenas are rather flat though. However, the architecture is beautiful and it's the first level to use the awesome IKBlue texture set. It's worth playing.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 16 December 2014, 11:33

It's hard to realise now what an impact the ikblue texture set must have made back in 1997, when everything looked like ID levels. Sadly at this in the series the gameplay doesn't match the looks, being rather repetitive and mechanical, and over-symmetrical.

Lysander Registered, rated this a 5 10 March 2015, 12:26

It's difficult for me to put into words the effect this map had on me when I first played it back in the early 2000s. The dark, mystical and foreboding Arabic atmosphere was completely unexpected but it works so well. Thinking about it now this map has probably been responsible, to a large degree, for the style of Middle Eastern music I now create with a distant, ethereal feel. Inspiring.

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 3 18 October 2016, 18:23

I don't have the luxury of fond memories as until a few months ago, the only custom Quake maps I ever played were in the 2 mission packs and the Aftershock CD-Rom. So as impressive as it surely was back then, it has to be said that despite the gorgeousness of the texture set, the architecture has not aged well and now looks blocky and undetailed. Combat is tough but fair and the only secret is so easy I wouldn't have counted it as one.

@MikeTaylor Well it's supposed to be a temple and symmetry usually is a characteristic of temples, so you can't really hold it against the map.

@Lysander What's your artist name? Do you have a Bandcamp or Soundcloud? I'd like to listen to your stuff.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in