Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of ins4
Author:Chris Mayers
Title:The Insurrection, part IV - The Resolution
Download:ins4.zip (d3579794a374a7439dbf107be18a6626)
Filesize:780 Kilobytes
Release date:25.03.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'sTEAMShambler
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
Res.bsp1807 KB25.03.1997

ins4.zip - The Insurrection, part IV - The Resolution

Medium sized Metal map. Fourth part of the Insurrection series - connected to ins1, ins2 and ins3. OK.

Tags: medium, metal, wizard, mixtex, traps, planetquake-map-of-the-week

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 3.5/5 with 10 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 4 6 October 2017, 14:02

Played on skill2. All killed and all found.

It is a good level with no big flaws aside from the water level is at the eye level in one room. No big unfair ambushes as in the previous one either. The progression and layout where good, while the brushwork at the beginning was a bit plain but way better in the rest, which continue to improve and improve on the second half. The traps are well done and can be prevented. As usual the map is overflowing with ammo, health, armour and powerful items, but the map still doesn't feel too easy and its entertaining.

4/4+

NoResolution Guest 2 November 2018, 18:35

I'm stuck on 14/86 kills. After pressing the post in the room on the lower right of the starting pyramid, I get the message "the entrance to the lower level is open", but nothing seems to have opened. I assume I have to go through the underwater tunnel, but that is closed. So frustrating. I'm playing on QuakeSpasm.

NoResolution Guest 2 November 2018, 18:40

(sorry, not underwater, but in the room downstairs with some water)

NoResolution Guest 2 November 2018, 19:42

Never mind! Apparently I had to find a really obvious secret to go on. Nice level, though it has several texture glitches on both QuakeSpasm and DarkPlaces.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 4 31 December 2018, 11:43

This last map of the series felt a little bit of a departure from the style of the previous three maps. Maybe it's partly due to the different texture theme that the atmosphere felt different. The brushwork seemed to be more detailed, too. The map felt more stock Quake than the preceding ones.

I think the vores in the map could've been used in a bit more clever way. Now it was pretty easy to go behind a corner and blast them with rockets from a good angle.

Also, the teleport ambushes were more consistent in this one, so less of a chance of the player being unfairly ambushed. On the other hand, now the map didn't spawn more monsters as soon as you had killed the previous ones, so the flow wasn't quite the same. I kind of missed that.

Now that I had got used to the flow of the previous maps, this map doesn't feel like it stacks up to them very seamlessly. But when judged solely on its own, it's still a good fun map.

pmk Guest 22 January 2019, 0:17

Very good closure map to the Insurrection series with great combat and interesting brushwork and level design. I enjoyed combating quake's minions both inside and out of the ziggurat structure that the level designer built within his map. The slow moving platform at the end of the level where you combat various knights while descending downwards was also a memorable part of the level. Although i feel the author should have implemented a battle with the shambler at the end which would have made closure to the level even more intense for the player. Well done quake map that i would give a four out of five rating to and would recommend others to download and play the Insurrection saga.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in