Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of kjsp1
Author:Killjoy
Title:Avanipaala Praasaada (Palace of the Great Warriors)
Download:kjsp1.zip (68a86ec8fe5005661f5b212aa5cf448b)
Filesize:1442 Kilobytes
Release date:13.10.2001
Homepage:
Additional Links: erc's QualityEthereal HellRetroquakeTEAMShamblerTen FourUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
kjsp1.bsp3270 KB13.10.2001
kjsp1.txt7 KB13.10.2001

kjsp1.zip - Avanipaala Praasaada (Palace of the Great Warriors)

An elegant map in a unique texture theme (a white version of ikblue) with some nice brushwork and good exploration/secrets.
Memorable primarily for its Taj-Mahal-like ambience, but also fun to play.


Tags: ikwhite, palace, large, asian, bright

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.5/5 with 20 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Quaker 28 March 2010, 6:44
An excellent map, I thought all the white would be boring but it looked impressive anyways, definitely not normal Quake style! Also fun to play and challenging to boot.
MegaQuaker, rated this a 5 20 April 2010, 4:59
A four star map with sharply escalating challenge, made into five stars because of the unique architecture. Looks like another game with Quake monsters. Pretty refresing I'd say.
Qmaster, rated this a 5 21 December 2010, 16:48
Very interesting textures and architecture. Must've been a nightmare for vis.exe! :D Fun level with very odd non-Quake feel. 4/5 because it lacks Medievalness and just doesn't quite feel right. Looks good though!
Aen 1 September 2011, 16:25
The first cuustom level I've played.
Cocerello, rated this a 5 24 July 2012, 15:33
Played on nightmare. This map looks pretty good, even if the architecture is simple, with the good use of textures it doesn't become boring at all. Layout is pretty nice and length is good. Monsters doesn't quite fit with the theme, but its OK.

Game play is good, and difficulty is a bit higher than ID maps; even so, what makes it nearly impossible is the lack of ammo in nightmare, you have to use monster infighting a lot, and even with that ammo is scarce.

Overall, it deserves a 4,5/5.
NightFright Registered, rated this a 5 9 March 2014, 8:46

Finally something different! Some Indian touch in Quake, why not? It works well, even though there's a lot of usage of white textures which may look a bit dull at first. After getting used to it, you realize it's a well-designed level with good monster placement and interesting architecture. With some Bollywood music playing in the background, it would actually be even better. ;)

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 16 December 2014, 13:11

A very refreshing change from the usual Quake aesthetic, and a very pleasant day-trip. I would criticise it for being a little on the easy side, except that the ammo supply is very well calibrated, so that even thought I provoked quite a bit of infighting along the way, I was still left with only rockets to kill the last shambler. Very nicely judged. Stands up in 2014 much better than most 13-year-old maps, and indeed most five-year-old maps!

Spirit Registered, rated this a 5 19 August 2015, 11:51

Weird how recent maps made this one really pale. It was so impressive back then.

ludicrous Guest 3 April 2016, 21:31

I remember having played this in 2001 or 2002, must have been with glquake. Looks much more impressive now, with quakespasm. Really nice, Quake goes Prince of Persia ;-) I found only 1/3 secrets and wondered if one is in the litte cataract in the rocks at the beginning, but couldn't make it with a jump there.

DeeDoubleU Registered, rated this a 4 4 April 2016, 23:52

Map actually looks better, than what I expected from screenshot.

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 5 24 September 2016, 18:56

I've been wanting to play this map for a while and I finally got to it thanks to me beta-testing BloodVengeance's RTlights. I was not disappointed. A very charming atmosphere with optimal texturing and nice layout. It's hard to believe that it's already 15 years old! I followed Talisa's advice and recommend using the Sahara skybox with it instead of the original scrolling sky, it complements this map perfectly and makes it even more gorgeous. Secrets are good.

Minor quibbles: Combat could be a little harder on skill 2 but the ammo is relatively scarce. It also starts very slowly with sporadic enemy placement, but it gets much better later on. There's an ambush that won't be triggered unless you pick up a specific medbox. Map designers should avoid doing that.

I played this map with Passion by Peter Gabriel featuring Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan in the background and I wholeheartedly recommend it. Either that or a sitar raga.

@ludicrous Yes it is. The jump is tricky but definitely doable: I made it and I'm not that good at quakey acrobatics. It took me a few tries, though.

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 5 24 September 2016, 19:00

By the way, I agree with DeeDoubleU that the screenshot could be much better.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in