Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of mexx8
Author:Marcus Dromowicz
Title:Prelude to Apocalypse & Mordrigor's Demise
Download:mexx8.zip (b044bf45cd09972b15ea78685c6fb468)
Filesize:1315 Kilobytes
Release date:25.04.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'sGeniac's PlaylistSPQ Level HeavenTEAMShamblerUnderworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
MEXX8.TXT15 KB25.04.1997
PAK0.PAK2980 KB25.04.1997

mexx8.zip - Prelude to Apocalypse & Mordrigor's Demise

Huge wizmetal medieval map with tense gameplay. Looks quite dated but it's fun nonetheless.

Tags: big, exploration, boss, planetquake-map-of-the-week, large, medieval, wizard, metal, cutscenes, monsters

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 4.2/5 with 17 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
hkBattousai, rated this a 5 6 July 2012, 16:36
WOW!

This was very original and fascinating! Sound effects were cool!

And that falling joke!! :D
It was very frightening! You got me there! :)

This is map doesn't deserve four stars. I'm only playing the four star maps to find underrated maps like this.

5/5
mmm Registered, rated this a 5 3 July 2013, 22:17

It's like every ten steps something either spawns up or opens up behind you. Nevertheless, great fun.

Cocerello Registered, rated this a 5 15 December 2013, 12:50

Played at skill 3. All the secrets have been found.

This one strays a bit from the style from previous mexx maps in gameplay and brushwork. Layout is simpler than the other mexx maps, but with quite longer ways and more shaped like a tree. The extra sounds add a lot to the map, and raise the quality of the ambience. It's way harder than most of mexx maps, mainly because some particular ambushes, but OK. I will rate it 5-. The theme, sounds and size adds a lot to the map, but the combat and brushwork isn't enough for a 5 stars one, even considering the year it was released.

dBAudio Registered, rated this a 5 4 October 2014, 14:55

i agree with Cocerello.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 31 March 2017, 15:34

I've played this one a few times in the past, but coming back to it now it certainly feels crude. There's some fun blasting to be had, but it all feels a bit pasted together -- and the end is anticlimactic, with the promised "bishop" turning out to be just an amped-up death-knight with vore-balls.

pmk Guest 3 February 2019, 4:17

I enjoyed this two map set much more than the author's previous release mexx7. I enjoyed the custom voice acting and sounds as it enhanced the mood of the map greatly. The combat in these maps were plentiful with challenging ambushes for the player to contend with. I also enjoyed the final battle with Mordrigor who is an enhanced death knight with custom attacks and new animations. Overall i enjoyed this short two level map pack and would highly recommend playing. It gets a four out of five rating from me.

Solomoriah Registered, rated this a 5 4 February 2019, 4:46

This one has its limits, it's true, but I really enjoyed it; for me, that's all that matters.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 5 10 March 2019, 14:11

An excellent two-part map! It uses the cutscene engine that first debuted in Vision of Hatred but unlike in that map, the cutscenes have been used in moderation in a way that doesn't break immersion. Sure, the map looks dated, but as a whole it feels more than the sum of its parts. I liked the story text that nicely set the atmosphere, which was further enhanced by the Bishop's dialogue. MikeTaylor, The end boss isn't the Bishop, but Mordrigor, his servant.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in