Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of necrobrood
Author:Shaun [Kona] Ross
Title:Necrobrood
Download:necrobrood.zip (c1939b1b07d8e2d35b784102e7a4a363)
Filesize:3804 Kilobytes
Release date:16.02.2002
Homepage:http://www.electricescape.com/etherealhell/
Additional Links: Ethereal HellRetroquakeTEAMShamblerTen FourTronyn's Top 10: RunicUnderworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
necro/necrobrood.html17 KB25.12.2001
necro/pak0.pak8059 KB16.02.2002
necro/necrobrood.txt7 KB25.12.2001

necrobrood.zip - Necrobrood

"Necrobrood is a three map pack with new monsters, textures and skins. The theme follows on from Permutations of the Rotten with a very dark and morbid metal style using grotty brownish modified ID textures. A traditional Quake style but with a unique hand. A number of much stronger opponents with upgrades and improved AI to the Grunts, Enforcers, Ogres, Hell Knights and Shambler."

Tags: metal

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.2/5 with 13 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Fr3n Guest, rated this a 5 10 October 2012, 5:40
I vaguely remember chatting with [Kona] the day after this pak was released and remarking on how the distictly green palette held all the maps together. He mentioned that he has a color deficiency that made shades of green look brown and actually chose and developed the graphics without a clear idea of what they actually "looked like" to most players. Fascinating.
Fr3n Guest, rated this a 5 10 October 2012, 5:42
btw the teamshambler link is wrong.
Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 15 January 2014, 19:22

Fr3n: Wow, that is interesting. While I am personally not a fan of the gameplay of the three [Kona] releases I've played so far, I did really like the colour palette in all of them (and they were all obviously well made). Have to give this one a try later.

Spirit Registered, rated this a 5 15 January 2014, 21:57

Played this today and it turned out I had no memory of ever playing it. A very nice release although some of the AI changes resulted in silly jumping or ice-skating monsters. Liked the final fight a lot.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 16 January 2014, 14:57

I've played this one a couple of times, and enjoyed it. The greens really are distinctive -- fascinating to read how they came about.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 18 January 2014, 1:20

Good quality and nice colours throughout, as I've come to expect from [Kona], based on haunting, flesh and nihilore.

Sadly the gameplay is also what I've come to expect, and I'm afraid I'm not a fan of [Kona]'s style in this regard, as I find it too linear and simplistic. The continuous teleporting in of monsters was a little overdone here, I think.

I did like the start of the first map, though (up to and including the first key grab), and I agree with Spirit that the final fight was nicely done (and I'm not usually a fan of Chton battles).

I also agree, however, that the monsters come across as a bit silly when they're jumping all over the place like demented bunnies from hell.

Hmm. Large, evil bunnies. Now that would be an interesting custom enemy. Anyone?

dwere Registered 3 September 2016, 20:52

He mentioned that he has a color deficiency that made shades of green look brown and actually chose and developed the graphics without a clear idea of what they actually "looked like" to most players.

His abundant and often strange use of greens on monster skins suddenly makes a lot of sense.

Hmm. Large, evil bunnies. Now that would be an interesting custom enemy. Anyone?

Uhhh. MadFox!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 29 September 2016, 22:39

On replaying, I feel that this stands up better than most of Kona's releases. The first map in particular has a good feel to it, and the escape vibe is strong. The second and third maps are arguably less memorable, though it was satisfying to kill a Chthon again -- it's been a while since I did that.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 30 September 2016, 9:19

Quite a good set of maps indeed. The AI jumping all over the place does look a little silly, but also makes for a welcome increase in difficulty--even small numbers of grunts are now a threat like they've rarely been before. I'm not normally a fan of Chthon fights but this one was particularly well-done. There is ample cover from its fireballs, and near-constant pressure from teleporting monsters without being ridiculous. The consistently detailed architecture, custom sounds, and interesting color palette give all the maps a unique feel.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in