Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of rc1
Author:Robert "Fat Controller" Cruickshank
Title:The Frater Fracas
Download:rc1.zip (ea921efce554d060c55a57e68ace585d)
Filesize:882 Kilobytes
Release date:12.06.1998
Homepage:http://www.planetquake.com/fatty
Additional Links: erc's QualityQuake Map HotelTEAMShamblerUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
rc1.txt6 KB12.06.1998
rc1.bsp2090 KB12.06.1998

rc1.zip

The Frater Fracas

Medium sized IKbase map.

Tags: base, ik, medium, ikbase

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating:
3.6/5 with 17 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








hkBattousai 14 July 2012, 7:10
I have found the silver key, but where the fuck is the silver door?

While trying to find the silver door with no-clip, I found a secret ledge with yellow armor, but the passage to it (the spot on the wall in the control room of the final lift with different texture) won't open even if I shoot it.

I liked the map when I first started playing in it, I was ready to give 5/5 for this, but the lost silver door made me mad. The secret ledge being hidden too difficult to make it inaccessible made me extra mad.
What was your point? Did you try to make fun of the player?

2/5
Fr3n Guest 10 October 2012, 6:13
hkBattousai: really confused by your comment. You can reach the yellow armor very easily by jumping onto the boxes on the cargo lift and then jumping across to where it is hidden. The silver key "door" is actually the control panel just before the trap shooters - weird and unmarked but not impossible to figure out.
user7346 Registered 23 March 2013, 2:10

I love these maps.
They are difficult, and VERY creative!! 5/5

ubiquitous Registered 3 October 2016, 19:54

I like this map. The highlight, for me, was the geometry—especially the hexagonal hallways and the entire underground section, both of which were creative and visually quite arresting. Gameplay was challenging and generally good. The secrets were also quite well-executed.

Two things I didn't like:

1) I have a PhD IRL and this map made me feel stupid. switches were hard to spot. In the underground section, I was confused what I was supposed to do to get the gold key. I never could find the control panel Fr3n mentioned, and ended up having no noclip through the door.

2) The lighting was a bit too high-key for my taste. The contrast between light and shade was so stark that a bit of the atmosphere got lost and a few details that are important for gameplay were hard to see.

Greenwood Registered 3 February 2020, 22:17

I have similar feelings about this map as the others above. The good: those sexy hexagon hallways and the build in general. The bad: that horribly esoteric silver-key-panel. I would've given up if not for Fr3n's tip above. Also, the buttons in general are a bit camouflaged. Finally, a couple of spawn points seem to be stuck partially in the geometry, like the start point for the player (I had to noclip just to move) and the 2nd shambler in the ceiling during the gold key battle. This might've been a non-issue prior, when playing in software mode, but this occurred when I tried it with several different source ports.

In general, it's got a lot of good points, albeit plagued with some wayfinding issues and a few hiccups.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in