Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of shadow
Author:Steve Rescoe
Title:Shadow over Innsmouth
Download:shadow.zip (7b86becccf948e76461f111fbb35f8c5)
Filesize:1012 Kilobytes
Release date:06.03.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'sRetroquakeSPQ Level HeavenTEAMShamblerTronyn's Top 10: MedievalUnderworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
Pak0.pak2210 KB06.03.1997
Shadow1.txt4 KB06.03.1997

shadow.zip

Shadow over Innsmouth

Large medieval village with a few new textures and reskinned monsters. Somewhat of a sequel to "Village of Dread".

Tags: medieval, town, oldschool, village, large, pyramid, skins, planetquake-map-of-the-week, lovecraft

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating:
4.2/5 with 29 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








Cocerello Registered 15 December 2013, 13:39

Very good for its time, but maybe a bit short, it gave me urges for more.

NightFright Registered 2 March 2014, 19:34

A classic, spectacular at its time as this map was showing designs players didn't consider being possible in Quake back in those days. Highly regarded also for its Lovecraftian looks and dark atmosphere. The underwater pyramid is also something you wouldn't find very often in Quake, and the idea was copied by other authors surely more than once later.

Lane Powell Registered 18 September 2016, 8:36

One of the first custom maps I played and I gave it a 4 back then. I just replayed it and I have to raise my rating. It has some z-fighting glitches and occasional too-cramped areas but damn if it doesn't have a unique atmosphere for the simplicity of its resources, and for the most part it plays really well today.

MikeTaylor Registered 19 September 2016, 16:54

I guess this is the same map as shadowgl.bsp, right?

bfg666 Registered 19 September 2016, 18:30

Yes, for software mode.

AnthonyS Registered 14 November 2017, 2:43

Interesting design but quick game play. Wished it was longer. Lot of glitchy textures for me.

dumptruck_ds Registered 24 January 2019, 8:56

It's an oldie, moldy, goldie. Love this map! Does so many things right with so little. Mappers: imagine making this in Quest (look it up) and compiling this thing on an old Pentium. Crazy. I really loved the twists and traps in this map.

lukaz Registered 3 April 2020, 8:15

I sorted by age then played the five star maps. Really glad I did, this was fun.

JuanchoES Registered 18 May 2020, 7:00

ahead of its time

DMXneon Registered 23 October 2022, 21:46

Very enjoyable, if a bit simplistic now. A straight-forward map with some fun traps and surprises.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in