Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of elsinore
Author:Roger Staines
Title:Elsinore
Download:elsinore.zip (ab38729311d3b5659452a71045d41303)
Filesize:969 Kilobytes
Release date:16.10.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Quake Map HotelRetroquakeSPQ Level HeavenTEAMShamblerUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
elsinore.txt3 KB16.10.1997
elsinore.bsp2125 KB16.10.1997

elsinore.zip - Elsinore

Medium to large Wizard castle.

Tags: large, wizard, castle, planetquake-map-of-the-week

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 3.7/5 with 18 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Ankh, rated this a 2 2 November 2010, 22:33
The map has 5 stars in quakeinjector listing. I can give it only 2 or 3.
hkBattousai, rated this a 5 4 May 2012, 16:21
Very good. No disturbing traps, nor any freaking out monsters. Good work.
5/5
Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 4 15 June 2014, 0:59

For the most part this is a well-made and enjoyable but unremarkable map, with fairly straightforward gameplay. Two things make it better than most, though: the attention to detail -- including underwater debris, broken stained-glass windows and paintings on the walls -- and the gold key room (you'll know what I mean when you see it).

There seems to be weird bug with the gold key door, though, as it does not want to open immediately (at least on my setup). It does eventually open, though, so it's not a big issue.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 15 June 2014, 16:32

Really nice -- this map paid attention to detail before it was fashionable. Yes, the gameplay is straightforward, but in a good just-get-in-there-and-play way, not in an uninteresting way. 4*.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 4 21 September 2015, 21:46

Elsinore on The Quake Grave

I wasn't expecting much going into this map as I've played Hellbase from Roger and it was just okay. However, I saw the rating for this map and I had to check it out. I'm happy to say that it did not disappoint!

For a 1997 map, this one does a lot of great things! The architecture is interesting and so much of a jump from Hellbase that I was impressed with Rogers progress in mapping. The way the map flows to each part works great as well. It's pretty linear but I've never had a problem with linear gameplay as long as it's a fun map, which this is.

What really impressed me though was the use of button interactions in the map. Or more accurately, the actions after button presses. There are areas where you hit a button and stairs appear. This has been done before but this just seemed to work very smoothly. There is an area toward the end where you step on a button and it reveals a HUGE castle or fortress and the reveal is worth playing for. Great stuff!

The only real gripe I have with the map, and you'll see it in the video, is that the key doors don't seem to want to open when i go up to them. The silver key door opened after a second but it was seemingly random when the gold key door would open for me at the end! This, however, doesn't take away the fact that this is a really good map and it's fun to play! Check it out!

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 3 20 March 2017, 21:33

It has some nice details and cool moving parts for a '97 map, but overall it's also kind of crude imo.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in