Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of metro
Author:Chris Mayers
Title:Hive, part II
Download:metro.zip (6fb104e57bc354fb5af486cbca9239dd)
Filesize:866 Kilobytes
Release date:28.07.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'sQuake Map HotelSPQ Level HeavenTEAMShamblerUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
metro.txt4 KB28.07.1997
Metro.bsp2016 KB15.07.1997

metro.zip

Hive, part II

Medium sized subway station infested by base monsters and Vores, a few new textures. It's OK, though the maintenance corridors become repetitive.

Tags: realism, medium, bricks, textures

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 3.2/5 with 17 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 10 June 2014, 20:26

Pretty much what the editor's description says, although it's on the higher end of "average" to me, especially given its age.

Some parts are indeed repetitive and maze-like, plus the secrets are somewhat unimaginative -- but overall it's a nice little semi-realistic map with a decent sense of narrative and location.

3 plus.

Pritchard Registered, rated this a 1 25 March 2017, 5:35

Very repetitive and poorly placed. Feels like half the map is copy/pasted together.

Cocerello Registered, rated this a 4 6 October 2017, 18:12

Interesting one. Again the mappers style has changed a lot since his map series Ins.

On one side the attention on detail is good with new textures and all those posters and indications, on the other it looks that all the effort for visuals went there and lighting, as the rest of brushes are quite bland looking. That's how it looks, but seeing that everything else besides walls and ceiling has quite the details, i think that it is an issue of following the realism theme too much.

The map is quite solidly done with no weird things or big downs in quality. It is repetitive in building due to the theme, but the map doesn't feel as repetitive as it should. Gameplay wise is decent and lighting is mostly good. Layout is of the branching 2D type with long corridor half of the time due to the theme.

There is the typical for this mapper easy secrets but it is not so overloaded in ammo and items in general as the previous ones.

I would say that for the time it deserves more a 4 than a 3 so i rate it 4-.

Armitage Shanks Registered, rated this a 5 16 June 2020, 13:37

I do like this map as it's Railway themed.Didn't find third secret and cheated to find the second.

I always think opportunity missed here and this map could pass on a message...If you touch a 650v/750v live rail you are more than not likely to die and in touching the live rail as I did a few times in the game...(which made me shudder) it should have been instant death.

Armitage Shanks Registered, rated this a 5 16 June 2020, 13:39

Played this under the Aliens monsters and Weapons... Rate it 4/5.Like it a lot.

Armitage Shanks Registered, rated this a 5 18 June 2020, 15:47

Can't find one of the secrets...It must be the one with the grenade launcher and there anre many spare grenades about but I can't use them.

Solomoriah Registered, rated this a 3 18 June 2020, 16:32

Simple and kind of fun, but (and I can't believe I'm saying this) there's too much ammo. I seriously never got low on anything. The only time I died was when I got sloppy because it was too easy. This was on Hard skill, too.

The_Pirate, rated this a 4 12 December 2020, 10:33

If any of you ever have lost your way in a old subway station, you'll appreciate this one!

For me, another Golden Oldie. The lighting, the repetiveness... A lovely dystopic feeling.

With the age of this map in mind, it is good now, but must have been in the top back then.


[This comment had to be restored. See this thread for context. This means that there might be problems with its formatting or content missing. The information if the user posted while being logged in was not restored. -Spirit]

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in